Lifehack logo

5 AI Prompts to Help You Plan a Fantastic Trip

How to use AI chatbots for making our life easier.

By Lesya ChumakPublished 23 days ago 4 min read
2
5 AI Prompts to Help You Plan a Fantastic Trip
Photo by Johan Mouchet on Unsplash

Most people start preparing for the holiday season in advance, booking hotels and buying tickets several months ahead. But if you were too busy at work and didn’t have time to plan beforehand, even at the last minute, you can still make an excellent plan for an exciting trip.

You don’t need to spend hours studying travel guides and browsing the Internet. Just use an AI bot to quickly get the necessary info and make a detailed program for your future trip. All you need is a smartphone with an AI bot installed and a basic understanding of how to write prompts. So, in this article, I'll provide several examples.

If you haven’t tried AI chatbots yet, I recommend installing the ChatGPT or ChatOn mobile apps. The latter is based on the ChatGPT API but has several additional functions, like image generation, for example. This feature can be very useful when planning trips, visualizing the locations you're planning to visit.

What destination to choose

The most obvious prompt when preparing for a vacation is to ask the bot about popular tourist destinations. As for me, I’m planning to visit Europe this year, so my prompts will be about this region. But if you are more interested in Asia or Latin America, the chatbot will provide complete information about them too. And if you’d like to travel to less crowded tourist spots or places where your favorite movie was filmed, you should make your prompts even more detailed.

My prompt was: “Name 5 European countries for holiday trips where tourists can both relax by the sea and visit famous buildings and museums. Include the top tourist cities in each country.”

The AI bot suggested Italy, France, Spain, Portugal, and Greece and gave me a few remarks about the most well-known places in each recommended city. I was surprised that I hadn’t heard about some of them. I had a sudden surge of inspiration, feeling that my future trip would be incredible and definitely broaden my horizons.

What sightseeing spots to visit

I decided to explore Valencia because Spain always makes me think of unforgettable holidays. At the same time, this city was totally unknown to me. So, I wanted to make a detailed plan for my one-week holiday.

The prompt was: “What are the top 10 places to visit in Valencia for a week? Any hotel and beach suggestions nearby?”

So, I got a great list of sightseeing spots, some of which were marked as UNESCO World Heritage sites, which added even more value to my trip. Usually, I like to take photos of historical buildings and read some facts about architectural styles and famous architects involved in city development. That’s why my chat with the AI bot was more extended, but I’ll skip this part for now.

Insights about local cuisine

It's impossible to imagine a quality holiday without trying the local cuisine. But to my shame, I only associate sangria with Spain, so I can’t do without the chatbot’s tips.

The prompt was: “What Spanish dishes should tourists taste in Valencia? Recommend main dishes, desserts, and drinks.”

The list of food and drinks generated by the AI bot looked delicious. It included Paella Valenciana and Agua de Valencia, which I hadn’t heard about earlier. That made me even more excited to explore Valencia this summer.

Useful words and phrases for communicating with the locals

We've gotten used to thinking that everybody knows English, so we tend to believe we won’t have any problems with communication. Unfortunately, that’s not always true. Sometimes, it can be hard to understand a person, even with Google Translate or any other online translator. My contingency plan for such situations is to learn the most common and useful phrases in the local language in advance. In any case, if you can say thank you or hi in Spanish, you will look more polite.

The prompt was: “Write 10 most common phrases in the local language that can be useful for tourists. Add transcriptions as well.”

I was surprised to learn that Spanish is the primary language in Valencia, but Valencian (a variety of Catalan) is also widely spoken. The AI bot gave me a list of spoken phrases in both Spanish and Valencian. They look similar but not identical, so I’ll focus on studying the Spanish phrases, as they can be helpful for me on other trips.

What souvenirs to buy

I try to bring something unique and authentic from every trip. While postcards and magnets with memorable places are fun, I’m more into buying souvenirs with the local vibe. That’s why I search online or ask AI bots for help.

The prompt was: “What are the 5 most popular souvenirs tourists buy in Valencia?”

It looks like I’ll get paella utensils and kits, including a paella pan and all the ingredients needed to make paella at home, because Valencia is the birthplace of this dish.

So, now, I’m all set for my summer holidays and can finally start booking tickets and hotels. I hope you will see how AI assistants make our lives easier. And for now, why not share your experience of what trips you have planned with AI?

techtravelhow tofood
2

About the Creator

Lesya Chumak

I love to write and share my thoughts with others:) Writing is what make me inspired and alive.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.