Journal logo

Working Class Kids

In the space of a year I went from interviewing in Italy, to going hungry mid-lockdown...

By Rosie J. SargentPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
5
Fun Outdoor Games for Kids: Atlanta Parent Editorial (2020).

I used to dream of the high life. The fancy historical buildings, people in small circles drinking rich wine served with mini quiches and green olives. Away from the concrete jungle decorated with graffiti bridges and rows upon rows of tudorsque pubs, run down charity shops and tacky high-street savings.

Until I went to uni, that all changed. I found myself surrounded by high-class people with their Downton Abbey accents pronouncing Bath Spa like Barrrth Sppparrr. Wearing their new branded clothes and their never dirty, always clean shoes.

Suddenly I realised I had no circle. I didn't fit in with typical working class kids, nor did I fit into the posh ones. No matter how well I spoke or held my champagne glass at the stem, raising my pinky while doing so, I will always light my cigarettes off my toaster if my lighter ever fails me. As much as I had developed a taste for cream cheese and salmon with black peppers on salted crackers, I still have a craving for dirty garage hotdogs and oven-cooked potato smiley faces.

Iconic British Cusine

I had travelled on a scholarship, mingled with the 'I studied aboard for a semester crowd', but I still went back home, back to my small council estate house, that I have done since I was a baby. My mum has never moved, yet I am always packing my things into the next place. I guess I am a nomad with nowhere to go, no circle to stay and remain.

Yet as I get older, and sadly not wiser. I have come to terms with my humble working-class roots, despite the lavish lifestyle of high society I so desperately craved. I'd rather spend my time with real people, who know what hard work really is, and know what it's like to go without. Therefore, helping anyone, even if it meant you too, might go short. We are all in it together; us working class kids.

In the space of a year I went from interviewing in Italy, to going hungry mid-lockdown. The wheel of fortune turned and left no prisoner. I was at rock bloody bottom, and I wasn't the only one.

I was surrounded by others who had lost their jobs and with that their financial security. If I had some money, I would get food for myself and then share with my neighbours, and them vice versa. If none of us had anything, we all suffered together. We saw many sleepless nights and drowsy mornings. Watching the summer sunrise and waking up to the sunset. It was rough, skint rough.

My own photo taken from the flight from London to Venice 2019

It wasn't long before I began to appreciate the smallest of things, and I reminded myself that although we may have suffered, we still had clothes on our backs, a roof over our heads and comfy beds to sleep in. Don't get me wrong, the place we were living in was a mould infested cesspit, but it is still better than sleeping in the back of an old rusting car or an old tent that not even a dog would dare to sleep in.

I had seen luxury, experienced it even, yet I have also seen poverty and endured that too. It can happen to any of us, and I guess why I felt the need to write this, is because I ask you, the readers, to always be humble and compassionate. The world is rough at the moment, uncertain and quite turbulent. It's easier to endure discomfort when we are all looking out for one another.

Thankfully at present, things are slowly getting better and beginning to balance out, but I will never forget either of these moments in my life, the luxury or insecurity. I know both sides of the coin, and no matter what may come my way, nothing will beat me down. I make my own circles.

___________________________________________________

Thank you for taking the time to read my work. If you like what I do, please leave some love and don't forget to subscribe.

Feel free to leave a tip.

And as always;

Stay safe, stay hopeful and stay blessed!

humanity
5

About the Creator

Rosie J. Sargent

Hello, my lovelies! Welcome, I write everything from the very strange to the wonderful; daring and most certainly different. I am an avid coffee drinker and truth advocate.

Follow me on Twitter/X @rosiejsargent97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani8 months ago

    I agree with Darkos, thank you for sharing your real experience. Glad things are better for you now.

  • Darkos8 months ago

    Love Your writing Thank You for sharing You real experience just yesterday I thought I never fit in also wanted to write but decided to step away I always tell I fit in for as much as it's needed good compassionate people are mostly used in luxurious circles and laughed out or ignored mostly in another's after a while so it's good to create your own individual space and about the way of living and money I can deeply feel that since Covid War arrived still recovering from it financially in no way so far no matter where I go what I try narcissists greatly are blocking each way for it maybe I should even write about it as It arrived into a very dead end and I bet many people can experience things got even worser I also can feel Your need to eat dirty garage hot dogs and how for them I mean Posh whatever You do is not enough. I always felt as if I was simply invisible not existing for them just when they need a new supply they turn to my side to take for a while , real people give you space to be your real truth self without the need to prove anything at all they just want to get to know you and they need work hard beyond imagination and it doesn't matter from which family status you come from ! also I would add this working hard in the shadow invisible for another it's my best choice to feel good and have truth real happiness in life whether I have something in a pocket or not ! Your writing is inspiring and help to navigate a good side from another's life experiences too ! Looking for more of Your thoughts and experience and We all have connection to one star so We are always connected in there and important no matter our financial or belonging to a social circle You belong to Mother nature on Earth just as You are ! much Love to You !

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.