Journal logo

Wisdom Teeth Removed

My experience of getting my wisdom teeth removed

By Ada ZubaPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 3 min read
Wisdom Teeth Removed
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

There’s at least five people you can name off from the top of head who have had their wisdom teeth removed. Today, it was my turn to get all four teeth out. I had been dreading it since the beginning of the week. I have heard so many stories from co-works to friends about their experience. “I laid on the couch crying” said a friend at work. “I was out for seven days to feel just a tad better,” said a co-worker. “It sucks,” said another. The general consensus is that I would not have a good time. I’m still on the day of having them pulled and I have been in much worse pain before, this is sitting at a pain scale of 4 right now it’s just a little annoying if anything. The drugs have made me drowsy. They put me to sleep because of the impacted teeth. I walked into the doctors office they asked all the typical small talk questions. I laid down I asked a few questions I had a few more in mind but I stared at the ceiling light and bam! I was awake again and it was after the procedure. I did act weird yet I was conscious enough to ask why I couldn’t drink from a straw. Afterwards my mom took my to their house and fed me my favourite soup, ice cream and vanilla yogurt. My husband then picked me up from work and he made Mac n cheese which hurt to eat despite the noodles being over cooked, so I made a smoothie and drank that. The pain was more annoying than it was hurting.

Day 2

Woke up feeling okay but looking in the mirror I was very much a chipmunk more than yesterday. I took the prescribed drugs and rinsed my mouth with mouthwash, there was no bleeding so that’s a good sign. Ate some yogurt but that hurt to put in my mouth. Taking some Naproxen helped and I still didn’t need codiene. Successful second day!

Day 3

The chipmunk face has gone down, looking more normal each day. I managed to get out of the house, which was a mistake. The pain got to me on the evening. It hurt to do anything with my mouth, I tried singing, but my jaw could only so much without feeling some kind of pain. I took codeine in the evening, which got me high, the after effects were strange. I felt dizzy and nauseous every time I stood. I was very relaxed to the point where I fell asleep in front of the television and didn’t even realize until I woke up. If you can avoid codeine.

Day 4

It still hurt to eat anything solid, so Jello became my staple food. The problem with eating jello was that my jaw could only open a certain amount, so I was splitting tiny cubes and popping them into my mouth. My face was very swollen, it even hurt a little bit to kiss my husband goodnight. I think this day was the most swollen I have ever been.

Day 5

Still hurt to eat solids, but I made it work. I was still pretty puffy, but my coworkers said I don’t look bad. I ate soup, which was a delicious cream of broccoli. I was so happy to be able to eat more than jello. I made my husband dinner despite me not being able to eat anything.

Day 6

I gave up on waiting and ate some pizza! No pain! However, drinking orange juice still made my gums hurt, which was completely expected. Not eating any solids for days is one of the biggest stressors I had. I would look over to see my husband eating popcorn and chips and I did feel envious. This is a good thing I was able to eat by day 6.

That’s the whole recovery process of you have no idea of what it’s like, but to let you know my recovery did not hurt as much as other people’s. Keep in mind that everybody is different.

advicehow to

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello and welcome to my page. I love reading fantasy, mystery and thrillers. I am an Amazon Affiliate Marketer even if I make no money, but it keeps my spending habits down. I love writing in different genres and challenging myself.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Courtanae Heslop7 months ago

    I stumbled upon your article about the wisdom teeth removal experience, and I couldn't help but share my own journey. Your storytelling resonated with me, bringing back memories of the mixed emotions that surrounded my own removal back in December 2021, here in Montego Bay, Jamaica. I vividly remember walking to and from my appointment, trying to maintain a sense of normalcy despite the impending discomfort. After the procedure, the numbing spray wore off, and I found myself in a world of pain. I too shed tears that Friday night, as the intensity of the discomfort hit me. Against medical advice, I took a panadol just to find some relief and allow myself to sleep. Reading your article, I couldn't help but nod along with your experiences. The drowsiness induced by the prescribed drugs, the peculiar questions asked post-anesthesia, and the strange restrictions (like not being able to drink from a straw) felt oddly familiar. It was a rollercoaster of emotions, from chipmunk faces to the triumph of successfully navigating the days without too much pain. Your detailed account of each day's progress resonated deeply, from the relief of the second day to the unexpected challenges of the third. I laughed at your mention of attempting to sing on day three, as I recall attempting similar feats that resulted in a quick realization of my jaw's limitations. The journey through Jello and the triumph of eating solids on day six mirrored my own. The envy of watching others indulge in crunchy delights while I navigated through days of soft foods felt like a shared experience. Your article beautifully captures the ups and downs, making me feel a sense of camaraderie in the shared wisdom teeth removal adventure. Thank you for sharing your story with such honesty and humor. Your words brought back my own memories and provided a delightful read that made me feel understood. Here's to the strength we find in enduring such experiences and the smiles that come after the swelling goes down.

  • Scott Christenson7 months ago

    Good to hear you got better fast. I had my wisdom teeth removed and didn't remember it being a big deal at all (even though he was pounding on it with a hammer and said "oops!" when it broke into a million pieces.) Maybe my teeth just aren't that sensitive, as other people have had really terrible experiences.

  • So glad your recovery has been smooth! Do take care!

Ada ZubaWritten by Ada Zuba

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.