Journal logo

Will I Be Ok After College?

No one tells you transitions are hard—here's my warning.

By Celene ZavalaPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Girl Boss Galaxy - Celene Zavala

It all started the day I graduated. Nerves were out of control, ESPECIALLY because of the nonstop "So what's after this?" question that way too many people ask recent grads. (Side note—never ask a graduate that UNLESS they for sure have a job) But there I was, done with my undergrad and off to the real world. The job search started a good two months before graduating and still nothing. I already had multiple internships under my belt but finding a job was a whole new struggle. Being a journalism major in broadcasting isn't like a normal job with a typical resume, you need a video reel with your very best work to catch the eye of any news director. I sent countless messages and links to different news stations across the US but only a handful responded. I decided to take matters into my own hands and network on LinkedIn. There I found a recruiter for all the Sinclair Broadcast companies who happened to graduate from my alma mater. I reached out with a link to my reel and asked him if he'd be able to give me any constructive criticism to make it better. He responded and said he'd be able to have an hour phone call to discuss his critiques.

I was beyond ecstatic that someone so big was actually giving me his time to help me become a better journalist. There he was giving me such great advice that I saw I needed work on. But that's when it happened......The last few minutes of the phone call his tone changed. He asked me if I really loved journalism. I automatically told him how much passion I had for this career and how I'd take any steps to make my dream of becoming a reporter a reality. He stopped me and said, "Well maybe a different career path could be better," and, "If you had a passion for TV, maybe you should have taken up acting." There at that moment, I thought it was a joke...but he went on to tell me how he just couldn't see me on TV or even as a reporter.

I was beyond crushed. I felt depressed. I somehow got into this deep unmotivated period of my life, because I believed him that I could never become a journalist. I tried to apply to jobs but I lost all my motivation. I had his voice in the back of my head each time I would apply to a new position. I remember May and June were one of the hardest times of my life because for the first time I was told I couldn't make my dreams come true. My friends and family tried to tell me not to let it get to me, but it still did. My dad saw how something that used to make me feel so happy and proud was now the thing I felt sad about.

And that's when my dad told me to take a vacation (after not having one throughout college because I took classes all year long). I chose to go somewhere relaxing and beautiful. I spent two weeks on the islands of Greece. There I met so many great people, learned a new culture, and finally got to clear my head after being non-stop work for so long. I kid you not when I say Greece changed my life—I MEAN THAT! While in Greece I sent out an email to the editor at DailyMail in Los Angeles because for some reason I thought to myself: "Celene it's time to chase your dreams." I don't know if it was the beach or me explaining to all my new friends on the trip why I loved journalism...whatever it was, something clicked in my head. I sent my resume and immediately got a response back from the DailyMail asking me to interview as soon as I came back.

When I got back from Greece I decided to also reach out to other people in the news industry besides the DailyMail. I asked my friend Jael, who previously worked at ABC if she had any connections I could email about open positions. She not only gave me different people to contact, but she also told them my name as well. The day after I received the email addresses from Jael, I got an email from the DailyMail that I received the reporter position! AND I WAS ECSTATIC! I finally got a real salary job, although not on TV, it was still something that could pay the bills AND in the field I loved. I thought I was done and didn't end up applying to ABC since DailyMail was full-time. But a week later I got an email from the Disney Internship recruiter that asked if I was interested in an internship with the evening newscast. The answer was of course, YES! I went through multiple interviews and later found out I landed the internship. (SHOUT OUT TO JAEL- Literally, thank you for mentioning my name to them) It was crazy how a month ago I was so discouraged from pursuing the one thing that burned the fire in my soul because someone told me, that THEY couldn't see me in the field of journalism.

I still can't believe I let one person's opinion get to me. Especially in this industry, you need to have some of the thickest skin, because EVERYONE has an opinion. But on the bright side, I thank the recruiter for telling me I couldn't do it. It pushed me to work harder and more efficiently. I want to prove to EVERYONE I cross paths with that I am supposed to be here.

If you are passionate about what you want to do, nothing will be impossible. It might not happen right away, but if you work hard and constantly find a way to get a little closer to your goal. BIG THINGS WILL HAPPEN.

advice

About the Creator

Celene Zavala

Just a 20-something-year-old journalist living in Los Angeles. Tips are appreciated if you enjoy my writing. Follow my journey: @celenerz

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Celene ZavalaWritten by Celene Zavala

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.