Journal logo

welcome to my desk

or one a lot like this

By ASHLEY SMITHPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

This isn't my desk but is very similar, mine is tidier as well ,just. This isn't my main job but I dream of making a living from writing one day so this is work in waiting. Sitting at my desk trying to think of what to write I had a brainstorm, after a lie down I tried again and here I am. The desk is where I choose to write, it means I have my back to the television so have slightly less distractions.

Although saying that I tend to listen to music while writing but I find this an aid rather then hindrance, except when my finance comes in the room and i don't hear her approaching. I have the requisite swivel up and down chair, that never stays as its been set. Its a fairly sturdy, solid wood desk. I could only afford it as it was second hand. It has a wide writing area, with just about enough room for the laptop i write on. There's a locked cupboard to my right and a drawer of wonders to my left, I call it that as my fiancé "wonders" why I hold on to the stuff in it.

Obviously these wonders come under the tag of "i might need that one day". The same tag is for the things piled up in the airing cupboard and at least one kitchen cupboard as well as the wardrobe in the spare bedroom. There's 2 sets of golf clubs in the wardrobe, one is mine I haven't used in 3 years, the other set is one I was given to sell or donate to family. As it hasn't moved since I got it I obviously have done neither.

There's the obligatory coffee mug by the keyboard, and somehow as i look another three hidden among the detritus. Being a fan of skulls and grim reaper style statues there's statues and picture's surrounding me. 3 statues , 1 skull light, 1 satanic goat skull statue( I wasn't allowed a real goat skull) and numerous pictures and drawings.

The desk also is for the pile of letters I get and occasionally remember to open. In the digital age post has become less frequent so perhaps should be saved for a celebratory opening. Though that might explain the pile with the big red lettering on it. I often discover forgotten bills, adverts for products i don't want and and receipts for things I shouldn't have bought.

I do try and keep the important stuff, like instructions for gadgets I don't have any more, bank statements form 7 years ago next to payslips from 10 years ago. Some of it is probably important and relevant but that's the stuff in the trays, I think. Instructions for the boiler are in a folder, I hope.

From my vantage place I can scan around and see a make up brush used for cleaning air vents, enough pens and pencils for a small shop, a dictionary I should use more often, a piggy bank I should fill more, some headphones I cant turn on , a mouse I don't use, some deodorant I probably need and my medication that I seriously do need.

The dream is to be a famous fiction writer, a desk looking out over the sea and not a care in the world. So far I have a desk, I will try and think of something good to write next time otherwise it will probably be a piece called welcome to my laptop or aren't drawers wonderful. Here's hoping it actually turns out to be the start of a wonderful career , full of fame and money. Maybe enough money for a new desk.

decor
Like

About the Creator

ASHLEY SMITH

England based carer, live with my wife, her parents and 4 cats. will write for all areas but especially mental health and disability. though as stuff for filthy seems popular will try there . any comments, suggestions or requests considered

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.