Journal logo

Vocal - the #100 thoughts

an attempt at analysis

By Vadim KaganPublished about a year ago 3 min read
4
Vocal - the #100 thoughts
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

...And so I have published 100 posts on the Vocal platform. Time to reflect a bit.

I had high hopes for Vocal when I joined - some of these hopes materialized, while the rest proved to be overly optimistic. I know that rhyming metered poetry (most of my posts) is not popular these days. I had many discussions on this subject with other poes, reareds, and even some random folks who were careless enough to be within the "excuse me, may I ask you a quick question" range. The results were inconclusive to slightly negative, but I did, do and will maintain that poems should rhyme. And prose should have rich imagery, rhythm and structure - while still being called prose.

The advent of ChatGPT will probably cause some shifts in the creative writing landscape - I am guilty of spending way too much time playing with this wonderful toy, but IMHO it is not really "writing". But I digress.

To date, I averaged 5 reads per post - just a couple below 500 total. I don't know what the Vocal average is, so it is hard to say if this result is great or poor (althought to me 5 seems very low). Of course, the reads were not uniformly distributed. About half the reads came from 15 posts, and the three Tops were responsible for 138 of the reads.

I have not (yet) won any contests, which probably indicates that I am not as good as I think. Interestingly, of the three Tops I got I only thought one to be special (different?) enough. So, I don't understand the Vocal editorial process and criteria, and I don't understand my readers' interests. How to get better at it I have no idea. Is the reader (editor) always right, or is creative writing an activity that just has to rely on some sort of self-gratification? I don't know. I sometimes tried to follow the line of writing that sseemed to be popular - with very limited success. Again, the reader is probably always right. That said, my readers proved to be a bit inconsistent.

Ther is some correlation between the number of reads and the number of likes, of course - but there are some well-liked but poorly-read posts, and there are some that were read a lot but did not get many likes. The former had clearly found their (limited) audience, while the latter failed to touch whatever strings creative writing is supposed to touch.

Ther were some interesting aberrations: out of 17 people who read The End of the World only one liked it. Puzzlingly, there were some posts that got likes with no reads (War, What We Are, New Year is Here and Morning Web) - which kinda raises the question about the validity of such likes. Or at least their justifyability, if there is such a word.

Some posts show very said zeroes (To All the Ones and another To All The Ones, You II, No Time for Dragons and Smaller.) While I long since gave up on trying to understand "the wisdom of the crowd", at least the last one seems to me to be undeservingly unpopular.

What does it all mean? I am either not as good at writing as I thought, or the world is not ready. Also, I suck big time at promotion, and even my three Tops were not able to compensate for that. I either need to do something about it - or just admit that Vocal is not the right platform for me and go back to more tratitional publishing arrangements.

Oh, and I am extremely grateful to my 32 subscribers! Thank you for your support!

literaturefeatureartworkflowsocial mediahow toadvice
4

About the Creator

Vadim Kagan

I believe that each day is a blessing, every story is amazing and all poems should rhyme!

Instagram: @wines_and_rhymes

Facebook: www.facebook.com/vadimkagan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    This hit me pretty hard, but I have to say... I have over two hundred posts and have not won a thing (some have even more than that and remain unchampioned). Also, the numbers don't indicate talent. I have zero reads on pieces I thought would be winners and large numbers of hits on things that were almost thrown away. The trick is to keep writing and to not give up on your own voice. If you have something to say, there has to be someone to hear it. Now, excuse me. I have a rough draft to post that I am sure will get at least one hit in the next six months... ;)

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    you have quite sufficiently covered all the bases buddy, I enjoy your writing, as I enjoyed th summation here, perhaps greener grass does grow elsewhere 😀

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.