Journal logo

Vocal Deep Cuts 5

Another selection of underappreciated and underread pieces by Vocal creators

By Paul StewartPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - August 2023
38
Vocal Deep Cuts 5
Photo by Oriol Portell on Unsplash

Another Monday, another random picture of deeply sliced fruit, means only one thing - another edition of Vocal Deep Cuts.

I said when I published the first edition of this series that I would continue doing it if there was continued interest in it. I am pleased to say there has been, and here we are for the 5th in the series.

This remains one of my favourite things to do on Vocal. It means I get to find hidden gems and then share them with you. It's fun to see these uncovered classics get the love and attention they deserve.

So, take a trip with me down this week's rabbit hole of deep cuts from some fantastic Vocal writers.

One of my Own

Keeping with the format, we will start with one of my own. Shameless self-promotion, I know. But it's just 10% of the selections, so I feel confident it's not too bad.

Deadly, CO

This came about due to a comment Heather Hubler made on a haiku I wrote for the Qaudru-Haiku Challenge about carbon monoxide. I want to kinda apologise to the people of Colorado, but not really. I am sure that there is no such town as Deadly and no bad things happen there. (I Googled it!) If there is, please let me know, though.

Self-promotion over. Let's get on with the better stuff...

For George by Dana Stewart

Dana Stewart is just an amazing writer. There doesn't seem to be much she can't do if anything at all. Her fiction pieces are so great, her non-fiction pieces leave you feeling more intelligent after you've read them, and her poetry is just sublime. Here is a great example of her poetry. There were plenty of others I could have picked, but this tugged at me emotionally and still feels very raw even though time has passed since George Floyd was killed in police custody.

An Ear For Music by Clyde E. Dawkins

Clyde is a very prolific and very talented writer. He writes extensively about sports and professional wrestling and has an interesting ongoing series tackling villainesses from television shows. That is not the end of his talents, though, as he has occasionally branched out to write some fiction and poetry.

As a huge music fan, I loved the clear, clean, and positive message of this limerick.

Time Heals... by Tiffany Gordon

If you've not yet come across Tiffany Gordon's wonderful writing, what have you been doing with your time on Vocal? Seriously though, Tiffany just bursts with energy and positivity. She is one of those creators you can count on to be extremely supportive and unapologetically uplifting.

This is a beautiful haiku with an important and powerful message of hope.

Strawberry Blonde by Shane Dobbie

Shane is a fellow Scot and a marvelous writer. So his inclusion here was an easy one. It was difficult to pick out a poem to showcase, but I chose this one because of how striking it was. I love the brevity of it as an acrostic and was surprised it didn't place in the Dancing With Distraction Challenge.

Ode tae a Caunle by Kayleigh Fraser

Okay, so this is another Scot - we are forming a small army and coming for you all! Joking aside, I have only really been aware of and reading Kayleigh's work for a week or so, but this is a stunning piece for a number of reasons.

First and foremost, it's beautiful and fits the brief perfectly. Secondly, she did something I am not yet brave enough to tackle and wrote it in full-on Scots. Thirdly, to ensure it was inclusive for all readers, she went to the trouble of translating it into English and then did a line for line with both translations. It is a work of art, in my very humble and honest opinion.

Fable by ARC

Many people will be familiar with ARC or Tony. Either because you have already been swept into a thought-provoking frenzy by one of his pieces or been hit with some of the most supportive and encouraging words in the comments section. I read this last week and was going to include it last week, but me bad with maths, and I made a mistake, so it got moved to this week (apologises, Tony).

This is a strange and wonderful journey of a piece. I really enjoyed it. I hope you do too.

Seeking Love in an Empty Space by Emily Marie Concannon

Emily Marie writes beautifully. Anyone who has ever read one of her poems or stories (even those dark and nightmarish horrors she has done) will know this. She is also a very encouraging and supportive individual. This...is just stunning. So...so beautiful. I felt every single line.

At Home With Him by Harmony Kent

Harmony is another positive force within Vocal. I know she is not always as active as she would be due to ill health, but when she is, she is a gem. I always smile when I see she has liked one of mine or commented because I know it will be hugely positive and encouraging. She is also masterful when it comes to writing. I found this piece tucked away at the back, like that piece of candy (that's for you Americans, using that damn word) you find still in its wrapper down the side of the cushion on the sofa. It has a lovely story behind it and is so very pretty.

Rain Rain by Joe Patterson

I love the rain, so this was a very easy pick when I was browsing through Joe's collection. You should have a browse at his other pieces because the man writes so well. There's always passion and skill, and often you are left thinking about his work long after you've read it. I love this because of how positively it speaks about the rain.

Sadly, that's it for this week. I am already excited to see what everyone thought of the selection and can't wait for next week when I highlight another 9 pieces by amazing Vocal creators, along with one of my own poems.

Enjoy!

If you are new to the series or there are some you may have missed out, you can find links to the previous four editions below.

You can also check out the rest of my work here.

listfeature
38

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz9 months ago

    Paul, I have been away for a bit and came across this wonderful piece. What a terrific idea and I cannot wait to go an read your first installments.

  • Shane Dobbie9 months ago

    Thanks for the shout out Paul. Not been paying much attention to vocal of late and wondered why my little acrostic challenge had suddenly flared back to life.

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Oo I missed this somehow. Congrats on another top story!! I’ll have to read these asap.

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Amazing! I need to get back to your last list and catch up! Looking forward to digging into these– of all of them, I had only read Tony's piece! Love that you are digging up the past. I find it hard to keep up with those I adore in my subscriptions, so it's fun to have a condensed list to go back in time from...and some new people to subscribe to! Great work, Paul!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Awesome!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    I made it through half of them, Will check the rest out in a bit. Congrats on another successful installment, Paul.

  • Maggie Elizabeth 9 months ago

    I just stumbled on this series! Thank you for giving me some more delicious tidbits by some talented folks to read!

  • Brenton F9 months ago

    Excellent work bringing these gems to light.

  • Joelle E🌙9 months ago

    “Another piece of sliced fruit” Haha, you are hilarious! Love these choices!

  • LB9 months ago

    What a fantastic idea to help unknown writers get some of the spotlight! These stories are truly worthy of sharing as well. Congratulations on your top story, I can't wait to read the next few!

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Hey, look who got Top Story! Way to go, Paul!

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    As always some very excellent recommendations here 👀

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    So excited to read these! I hope it makes Top Story, but even if it doesn’t it’s fine. I got very disenchanted with the Freshly Picked series I was doing. I realized people were all commenting when it made Top Story hoping I’d pick them next, but not checking out the work of others. The people who enjoy this series for what it is will check out your deep cuts regardless of if it makes Top Story. The people who don’t appreciate it won’t no matter what. I felt you should know that. I am glad you are doing this.

  • Harmony Kent9 months ago

    I’m honoured to be among these wonderful talents! Now I know why I’ve garnered three new comments 😉 Thanks so much for writing and sharing these Deep Cuts, Paul, and for your kind comments 💕🙂🤗

  • I was so excited to see that deeply sliced melon knowing some real treats would await! I did not expect my wee Ode tae a Caunle to be starring 😇 **happy dancing** Thank you so much!!! My heart glows with it being appreciated 🥰✨ I’ve got so many tabs open to read later from your other shoutouts. I’ve been finding it stressful to find real people and real work on here… my feed is just filled with AI content 😏 you take that stress away by giving me plenty of writers to explore this week! I really appreciate this column! 🤍

  • Thank you so much Paul for putting this together! 🍩🥐 I have to swing by here again to read the one's that I've not!

  • Another great selection, Paul. I already follow some of these but had only read one.

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    Paul, thank you so much for the compliments, it really means the world coming from a talented individual as yourself. I always enjoy reading your work, and especially appreciate you curating the pieces and giving other writers a shout out. I'm looking forward to reading these, again, thanks so much for including me in this list.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Another amazing collection, Paul! Thanks so much for this series, my friend!

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Thx so much 4 the Shoutout Paul! I am so honored! I must say that I love the pieces that you have chosen 2 highlight. I always look forward to reading your work! It is always profound, fun & well done! I'm really digging this series! Thx 4 your kindness!

  • ARC9 months ago

    Paul, you're the best. I am blown away to be included in such a might list/series as this. Thank you, brother 🙏💙 One formatting note: Looks like a few of your embed links didn't survive the submission process? Or do I need to clear cache and cookies? lol

  • Matthew Fromm9 months ago

    Love this series. Queued all of them up.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.