Journal logo

The Vocal Ambassador Group

Why I Joined

By Caroline-StoryGirlCAPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
4

A thrill of excitement fills me from head to toe this morning. I joined the Vocal Ambassador Group and allow me to say, it’s not for the money. Anyways, my Stripe account is all screwed up but I do have other reasons for wanting to participate in this specific group.

For many years, I’ve put off writing anything. Somehow, I managed to convince myself I didn’t have time or I wasn’t good enough. It is my humble opinion that we, as writers, make time. And yes, I’m good enough. I can’t believe I just wrote that. So out of character for me but I’ve learned a lot over the past few months about myself.

A view of how I feel when I write.

We love to write, don’t we? That’s why we’re here. Since I joined Vocal, I’m writing like I’ve never written before. That long-awaited book that’s harped at me from the back of my mind has sprung forth with insatiable enthusiasm.

My biological clock sets itself for 4:30 every morning. This is my writing time. Many years have passed since I’ve felt this happy and fulfilled.

Another reason I joined the Ambassador Group is because of all of you, the writers, and the Vocal team. Vocal is working extra hard to make this platform easy to use and highly accessible for anyone to interact with others. This is the basis that forms a supportive community such as the ones here on Vocal which I enjoy so much.

The talented people who write on Vocal are truly inspiring. Every story or poem I read is a learning experience for me. I catch grammar, dialogue flow, scene transitions, storylines, and plot. But hardly a story I’ve read has a glitch to it. They are wonderful and created with heart. That’s what makes them so special.

I still flounder when it comes to which groups I can post to and those I can’t if it doesn’t fit my genre. As I write this piece, I glanced up at my Vocal Group list taped to the wall in front of my desk for reference and smiled. Lists are always a great help. Thanks to Mike and Lesley.

My love of books

On another note, and this comes from a deeply personal part of me. I’ve learned to stand up for what makes me happy without worrying about taking care of everyone else’s feelings. I write because I want to be a writer and if someone around here (my home) doesn’t like it, well, that’s too bad. No one in my family reads anything I write and that used to bother me but you know what? I write for me. I learn to improve my skills because it makes me happy. My confidence and self-esteem are coming back with each article I write.

My husband makes “whatever” kind of comments and that’s okay because writing is what brings me joy. Participating in Vocal is what brings me joy.

In closing, even though we are states and countries apart, this group is a unique community and I dare say, family. It is. It’s literally saved me from despair and regret regarding my life, how I chose to live it and my purpose while here on this Earth. I used to agonize over why didn’t I study more? Why didn’t I follow my dreams of studying journalism and creative writing? It’s never too late. Sounds corny, I know but if you knew my back story you might understand.

I look forward to reading your stories, although horror I stay away from, sorry. I’m sure they’re wonderful. And I look forward to writing more.

Make time for writing and enjoy your day. :)

humanity
4

About the Creator

Caroline-StoryGirlCA

Hi there! I’m a fiction writer. Written all my life. Want to inspire if I can. Living on a guest horse ranch in Baja California, Mexico. Married to a Mexican Cowboy!

Website: carolineaguiarauthor.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.