Journal logo

The River Took Him: In Memory of Jiminy

Forging Through the Furious Waters

By Paula Published 9 days ago 7 min read

I am running barefoot down a river creek bed, my small feet stumbling over the sharp stones that cut into my soles. The river outpaces me, its roar a taunting reminder of my helplessness. Sweat and tears blur my vision, burning my eyes with a stinging intensity. My throat is raw from gasping breaths, each inhale a searing pain. My tiny legs struggle to keep up, each step a jolt of agony. My heart is a relentless drumbeat, frantic and furious, pounding in my chest as if it might burst out or explode within me. The urgency claws at me, an unseen force driving me forward through the chaos and fear, but I am always just a step too slow, always falling behind. As a five-year-old boy, I am consumed by terror and desperation, chasing a fleeting hope. I can't catch up.

The scene is familiar, a recurring nightmare that has haunted me for years. It always begins the same way. The river, once a gentle companion, has turned into a monstrous force, its once inviting waters transformed into a raging torrent of chaos and destruction. I can still feel the warmth of the sun on my skin, the laughter of my family echoing in the air as we played by the water's edge. But then, in an instant, everything changed. The river, like a betrayed friend, rose up against us, its currents pulling us into a nightmare from which we could not escape. And now, every time I close my eyes, I am thrust back into that moment of terror, reliving the horror of that fateful day.

The nightmare is vivid, hauntingly so, and every step I take feels like I am fighting against an invisible malevolent force, something dark and depraved, pulling me back. But in the warmth of my childhood memories, there's a stark contrast. I remember the day with clarity, like a painting bathed in sunlight. It was a bright, sunny day, the kind that makes you squint as the sun kisses your cheeks. My mother's laughter danced in the air, mingling with the scent of freshly cut grass and the sound of children's play. We had spent hours playing in my younger brother's boat, our imaginations turning the mundane into magic. But then, as we all sat down to eat, the boat broke free, and the current seized it. My younger brother's tears mirrored the glimmering river, his distress palpable as his cherished toy slipped away.

Jiminy, my older brother, heard the anguish in our younger brother's cry, the sound piercing through the air like a knife. Without a moment's hesitation, he sprinted towards the bridge that spanned the creek. Turning back, he seemed larger than life, a towering figure radiating strength and resolve. In my five-year-old eyes, he was a hero, my protector, my beacon of hope. With a voice filled with certainty, he reassured us, "I'll get it," his words echoing with determination and bravery. And with a final glance, he leaped over the bridge rail, disappearing into the swirling waters below, his mischievous smile and twinkling eyes etched in my memory like a cherished painting.

The current took him fast. I ran down the creek, my small legs pumping furiously. Behind me, I heard a scream. My mother had fallen in, breaking both her collarbone and femur on impact, trying to save him. My father was down in the water, my uncle holding him back from being taken alive by the furious current. The nightmare captures this moment, freezes it in time, and I am forever that little boy watching helplessly as my brother is swept away. But even as I watched, my legs ran hopefully, driven by the desperate desire to reach him, to save him from the clutches of the relentless current.

In the dream, I realize I can't outstrip the river, can't break free from the relentless current. I'm consumed by a sense of futility, of being trapped in a struggle for survival. With a heavy heart and trembling hands, I make a decision. I approach the crossing bridge, its rail a barrier between safety and the raging waters below. Without hesitation, I climb over the rail, my heart pounding in my chest. I stand on the precipice, feeling the weight of my fear and desperation pressing down on me. And then, with a deep breath and a silent prayer, I let go, plunging into the icy embrace of the river below.

As I'm thrown from the clutches of the river, gasping for air, I take in the scene before me. I see my mother, her body battered and broken, dragging herself towards the water's edge with sheer determination etched on her face. Beside her, my father rushes to her aid, scooping her fragile form into his arms and cradling her close. The shrill sound of sirens pierces the air, a stark reminder of the chaos surrounding us. Yet, amidst it all, I sense a profound sense of loss looming over us like a dark cloud.

With a heavy heart and trembling limbs, I steel myself for what comes next. I know the river has claimed its toll, but still, I cannot accept defeat. Summoning every ounce of strength within me, I prepare to dive back into the frigid depths, refusing to give up on my brother. But before I can act, I see my father's determined gaze, his eyes locked on mine with unwavering resolve.

In that moment, I realize that he understands the depth of my determination, the unyielding love that compels me to risk everything for my brother. Without hesitation, my father leaps into the raging waters, his powerful strokes cutting through the current as he races towards me. With a strength born of desperation and love, he pulls me from the icy embrace of the river, his arms a lifeline in the darkness.

Gasping for breath as we break the surface together, I cling to my father, my heart heavy with grief and despair. In his arms, I find solace from the chaos, a fleeting moment of respite in the face of tragedy. He hands me over to my mother, her eyes filled with tears and anguish, as if she had already accepted the inevitable loss of another son. Together, we confront the turbulent currents, bound by our shared sorrow and the harsh reality of our loss.

As I jolt awake, the sight of my parents and the solemn ceremony before me registers with a sharp pang of realization. Why was it me, and not Jiminy? This question echoes in the recesses of my mind as they lower his small coffin into the earth. The finality of the moment strikes me like a physical blow, leaving me struggling for air, my throat raw and my eyes stinging with tears. Standing at the edge of the gaping black hole that swallows him whole, I feel the weight of loss pressing down on me, crushing me under its unbearable heaviness. Mother Nature claims my brother once more, pulling him into her cold embrace, leaving only memories behind.

Years passed, but the nightmare remained. It wasn't until after we got married and had our own son did I begin to understand it.

My wife turned to me, concern etched in her features. "Understand what, honey?" she asked, her hand reaching out to touch mine.

"The dream," I replied, my gaze drifting to the window where the nearby river flowed gently under the moon's watchful eye. "It wasn't just about the past; it was a manifestation of my deepest fears and unresolved guilt. The river represented the uncontrollable forces of life, and my inability to save my brother was a wound that never healed."

As I spoke, memories flooded my mind, each one a ripple in the river of my consciousness. "One night, after we put our son to bed, I sat by the window and looked out at the gentle flow of the river nearby," I continued, my voice tinged with emotion. "The moonlight danced on the surface, and for a moment, it looked peaceful. That's when I realized that the river in my nightmare was a part of me, a representation of the uncontrollable currents of life that we all face."

My wife listened intently, her eyes reflecting understanding and empathy. "I closed my eyes and let myself remember," I went on, my voice growing stronger with each word. "I let the memories wash over me, not as a dream, but as a part of my story. The fear, the pain, the guilt, they were all currents in my own river. I needed to accept them, to let them flow through me without resistance."

As I spoke, I felt a weight lifting from my shoulders, the burden of years of anguish slowly easing. "The next time the dream came, I was prepared," I said, my voice filled with determination. "I focused on my breathing, on the pounding of my heart. When I jumped into the water, I didn't fight the current. I let it take me. And in the cold, dark embrace of the river, I found a strange kind of peace."

My wife stood up and took my hand, her touch grounding me in the present moment. "I woke up before the coffin scene," I continued, a sense of clarity washing over me. "My heart was still racing, but with a new understanding. The nightmare wasn't a punishment; it was a message. It was telling me to let go, to forgive myself, and to understand that some currents are too strong to fight."

I turned to my wife, gratitude and love shining in my eyes. "I held you close that night," I said, my voice filled with emotion. "Feeling the warmth of your body against mine, I knew that the river would always be a part of me. But it no longer held the same power.

humanity

About the Creator

Paula

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Paula Written by Paula

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.