Journal logo

The Power of Resilience

My Journey from Detroit

By Rob MurphyPublished 29 days ago 3 min read
The Power of Resilience
Photo by Stephen yu on Unsplash

Growing up in Detroit, I learned early that life wasn't going to hand me anything for free. My neighborhood was tough, and every day was a challenge. Despite the hardships, I discovered basketball, a game that taught me much more than just scoring points; it taught me about resilience.

I remember when I first started playing at Mumford High School. I wasn't the best player, but I loved the game. It was an escape from the troubles around me. My coach saw something in me—potential, not just in basketball, but in my character. He told me that no matter how tough things got, I could push through and make something of myself. That stuck with me.

My path wasn’t smooth. I faced many setbacks. I wasn’t naturally gifted like some players, and I had to work twice as hard for every opportunity. There were days I thought about giving up, but the idea of quitting didn’t sit well with me. I kept pushing, using every rejection and loss as a stepping stone. This mindset helped me not only in sports but in life.

After high school, I got the chance to play at Central State University. College ball was a whole new level. The players were faster, stronger, and more skilled. It was intimidating, but I remembered what my coach had said. I used my grit to earn a place on the team and eventually became known for my defense. I wasn't the star, but I played with heart and never backed down. This earned me respect and a role as a leader on the team.

Transitioning to coaching after college, I brought the same resilience and work ethic. My first major coaching role was back in Detroit, at Crockett Technical High School. We weren’t a top team when I started, but I saw the potential. I believed in my players, teaching them the same principles of resilience and hard work that had gotten me through tough times. Within a few years, we turned the program around and won a state championship. That victory was sweet, not just because of the trophy, but because of the obstacles we overcame to get there.

Moving on to college coaching, I worked under great mentors at Kent State and Syracuse, learning that resilience on the court needs to be matched by resilience off it—building relationships, guiding young players, and managing a team. These experiences prepared me for my role as the head coach at Eastern Michigan University. There, I took a program that had struggled and led them to a division title, earning the Mid-American Conference Coach of the Year.

My coaching journey taught me that resilience is about more than enduring; it’s about adapting and thriving. I learned to take each challenge head-on, learn from it, and use it to improve. This wasn't just about basketball. It was about helping young men grow into their potential, face their own challenges, and succeed.

Now, as President and CEO of the Rob Murphy Foundation, I focus on giving back to the community that raised me. The foundation supports underserved youth, offering them opportunities through sports and education. It’s my way of passing on the lessons of resilience I’ve learned. I want these young people to know that no matter where they come from, they have the power to shape their futures.

Resilience has been the constant theme in my life. From the courts of Detroit to the executive offices of a professional sports team, the ability to persevere, adapt, and overcome has been key to my success. It’s a message I try to embed in every initiative I lead and every young person I mentor.

Looking back, I am grateful for the challenges. They shaped me, taught me the value of hard work, and showed me the power of never giving down. If there's one thing I'd like others to take from my story, it's that resilience can transform potential into achievement. It's not just about bouncing back; it's about bouncing forward, stronger and wiser than before.

career

About the Creator

Rob Murphy

Rob Murphy is a coach and executive. As EMU's former coach and GM of Motor City Cruise, he blends sports leadership with community service, inspiring many through his foundation and autobiography, "Deep: The Life of Rob Murphy."

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rob MurphyWritten by Rob Murphy

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.