Journal logo

The Millenial Post

A Thousand Stories On Vocal

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - December 2022
44

Introduction

This is my thousandth story on Vocal. I certainly didn't expect this and wasn't sure whether this would be a poem or something more involved. On thinking, the poem limit on Vocal is just a hundred words and at this point, I have already written fifty words and I have not yet begun to say what I want to say.

I am writing this as my story count sits at 996 plus one awaiting the subject's agreement so if I write another three then the thousand story landmark will happen a long time before the New Year, and for me, that is some achievement.

Quality Or Quantity

You know the quantity is there, but the fact that Vocal have never rated my fiction as a Top Story, and only two of my poems sometimes make me doubt myself, but then when I see the positive feedback I get from my audience plus my actual belief in my own talent, then I realise that Vocal is just the place where I store my work, nothing else. They seldom reply to my emails and never converse with me, so I know to them I am as ephemeral as a ghost and no amount of anything will change that.

Each month Vocal pays me (after I pester them) more than my subscription so it is a platform that costs me nothing to stay on. I do have a lot to be grateful to Vocal about.

Vocal are the reason that I actually published my first book, an anthology of Vocal stories, which you can read about below.

What Next?

I enjoy writing and enjoy being an administrator of Vocal+Assist and do wish I had some way to properly talk to people in Vocal when there are issues or to make improvement suggestions but that will probably never happen. I have tried in the past but emails were just left unanswered and eventually you give up.

I will keep writing and may even try to write a book but my limit seems to be a three or four episode series because my audience has demanded more from one of my stories.

Every story I write has been a short, in my opinion, stand alone piece, hoping it will stimulate my audience to come up with their own conclusions, but they ask me "What Happens Next?" so I always try to give them what they want.

The Countdown

I never saw the possibility of making a thousand stories before New Year and was resigned to maybe hitting it by the end of January. I could have used the Vocal Haiku Challenges, but the flood of other people's entries really overwhelmed me but I still ended up with two in the first challenge and five in the second one, which I feel was too many, but a Haiku is only seventeen syllables so it makes it very easy to create a Vocal story very quickly. I first included Haiku in this Vocal story last year.

So I am familiar with the format and it is a great challenge to put a lot into such a minimalist format.

This week I was up to 984 stories so needed maybe two a day to hit the deadline before New Year's Eve.

At this moment I just need another three stories and I have five days to complete them so it is hardly a countdown anymore is it?

Conclusion - A Short Poem On The Situation

This Is The Countdown To A Thousand Stories

Vocal Has Helped Me Hit This Great Target

I Feel Like Mozart Watching Polidori

I Will Go Further, And I'll Have No Regrets

I think Lindsey Buckingham's "Countdown" is perfect music for this article

historyworkflowpop culturelistfeaturecareeradvice
44

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a month ago

    Congratulations, again a bit late, but....

  • Tom Hammondabout a year ago

    This is amazing..!! https://www.employeeconnection.one/

  • JBazabout a year ago

    I reread this, and am glad I did. I really like the piece you chose to write for your 1000 story. Your work and music choices always make me excited to see what you have in store for us. Well done

  • That is a great achievement!!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Mark Grahamabout a year ago

    Well congratulations on the 1000th. I am approaching only 500 stories. Keep up the good work.

  • TheSpinstressabout a year ago

    Wow, well done on this amazing milestone!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Super!!! Congratulations on Top Story💕💖😊

  • Kali Mailhotabout a year ago

    Wow glad somebody is sticking it to the man! On another note, please read my latest poem

  • Victor Onokopasahabout a year ago

    Clearly organized and interesting read.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Colleen Millsteed about a year ago

    Congratulations Mike on both Top Story and your milestone.

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    I am so proud of you, great job! And don't doubt yourself... I've never gotten a top story, but I don't think it means my stories aren't good. I always appreciate your feedback and can tell you your work is stellar and entertaining :) :)

  • Brin J.about a year ago

    YAY! What a success, I'm so proud of you <3.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Congratulations on the top story!!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Amazing work brother!! Hearted and keep up the outstanding job

  • Carol Townendabout a year ago

    Well done Mikeydred, this is brilliant news, and keep the stories coming because I do read them and I like reading them!

  • Ashley McGeeabout a year ago

    Get it, Mike! Congratz on 1000 stories!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Congratulations on this milestone! You've put in a lot of work but your stories are always entertaining and or informative. Keep it up! You deserve the spotlight of Top Story!

  • Gina B.about a year ago

    Congrats on 1,000! Your perseverance is very admirable.

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    That is pretty cool! I do wish Vocal would listen to some of the suggestions to make things better. Congratulations on 1000 stories 👏 So awesome!

  • Wooohooooo congratulations on hitting 1000! I've alwayd enjoyed your poems and stories. You're such a talented writer so always keep writing!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Congratulations!!!!! I am so happy for you and proud of you for meeting this goal before the end of the year like you wanted to. I enjoy reading all of your different works, fiction, poetry, music reviews and more!

  • Testabout a year ago

    Congrats Mike! There is a well of infinite stories and thoughts that has poured from you :) sharing your creativity with anyone who is meant to read or listen is the only thing we could ask for. Blessings!

  • Misty Raeabout a year ago

    Wow! 1000! You put the "pro" in prolific! I'm at 143, I think. You seriously need to stop beating yourself about the fiction thing. This last story (the one for the window challenge) was the first top story I ever got for fiction. EVER! Yours is coming. Your fiction has grown by leaps and bounds since I first started reading your work. Congratulations on the huge milestone!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.