Journal logo

side hustle stack

shs

By umer aliPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
side hustle stack
Photo by Garrhet Sampson on Unsplash

side hustle stack

This is the part where I talk about what I did and what I learned. I work with a lot of clients who have side hustles, whether they're doing digital marketing, content writing, coaching or something else entirely. It's easy to get burned out or to fall into the trap of doing one thing all day long. However, you can still make a living from these efforts if you're willing to put in the effort and maintain a good balance.

I do think it's best to find a side hustle that allows you to have a flexible schedule and work on it for at least 15-20 hours per week. This is important because you can't do too much or it'll impact your primary job. I like to work on my side hustle around 7-10 hours per week so it has a minimum and maximum, and it's nice to have the flexibility to do other things as well. When I do my writing, I can get a few hours of writing in on the side before my writing day starts, or I can finish some client work and make sure my voice isn't too tired to hit the writing pedal.

If you find a good balance, you can make a good living doing this type of work if you're patient and put in the work.

Work hours

I've been trying to stick to 10 hour days, four days a week. This is what I was able to do with my previous side hustle, and it helped me develop the skills I need to be an excellent digital marketer.

I start my day around 5am, drinking coffee, eating breakfast, and catching up on emails and Slack. I then jump in my programming work around 6am. I start by reading and learning how to program the most basic parts of my site (creating menus, creating functions, changing settings) and then I work on improving the UX and feature functionality of my site. I'll have a lunch break, which is about 2 hours of downtime. At 2pm, I'll take a 15 minute shower, pick up a burrito at the store, and go back to coding. I spend the rest of the day coding until 5pm, when I'll do a round of emailing and scheduling. At 5pm, I'll review the previous day's work and pick what I want to work on the next day.

One thing to note is that I used to go from coding to speaking to working on the next side hustle almost every day. I had a morning and an afternoon side hustle, and then after my workday, I'd go to the next side hustle. This wasn't good because I didn't have any set work hours. I thought I could just do more and more projects and work more hours, but I would constantly get burnt out and slow down. The truth is that there's a limit to how much you can do. A lot of the work I do, I don't consider to be work at all. It's fun and I like it, so I don't really feel that it takes up time. In fact, it feels good when I'm done. I have to be careful not to burn myself out though, so I'm trying to stay balanced and use my best judgment on what to do each day.

The cool thing about working with a side hustle is that you have a lot of time in the day to enjoy it. Don't be afraid to take time off and spend a day doing something relaxing!

In addition to the above, I like to schedule my time out. On my planner, I make notes about all the tasks I have on my to-do list that day, like writing, programming, reading, cleaning, and so on.

workflowsocial mediahumanityhow tofact or fictioncareerbusinessartadvice
Like

About the Creator

umer ali

You Might Learn A thing or two here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.