Journal logo

Should have been A Cowboy

a short piece about the Late Toby Keith.

By Jennisea RedfieldPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
1
Should have been A Cowboy
Photo by Adam Jaime on Unsplash

The first song I ever heard by this Patriotic, redneck of rednecks singer, was “Should have been a Cowboy.” His voice and songs followed my tastes, my mother’s, my father’s, and my grandmother’s, all of us adoring his music. We loved the epitome of country-boy rock. This man was the cornerstone of country music, a royal in the scheme of things, my generation’s version of Hanks WIlliams Jr. At least from my perspective. And today, on February 6th, 2024, I found out that not only was he sick, but he passed away, joining the other great artists beyond the stars.

His name was Toby Keith Covel.

He was an impressive man, one who was loyal to the dream of America, and he did his damn hardest to help with the struggles our troops faced, bringing enjoyment and understanding to the Armed Forces.

Born in Oklahoma, Toby Keith joined the bright world on July 8th, 1961. Throughout his life, he was a jack-of-trades; a derrick turned supervisor in the oil fields, a semi-pro football player, and a guitarist.

When he began to focus on Music, many folks, his family included, didn’t see the undiscovered talent just yet. They were apprehensive about this career path. However, to their surprise, Mr. Toby Keith got a break in 1984, playing on the Honky-Tonk circuit.

By 1993, he finally, at long last, created a song that grabbed the attention of thousands of country music fans. Sporting a curly mullet, decorated with a Stetson hat, and bright eyes, Toby Keith came out with “Should have been a Cowboy.” And from that, his career shot up like powerful, lyrical rockets.

My first introduction was right after 9/11, I was seven, freshly turned for three months. Scabbed from running wild in blackberry fields and wild hawthorn. My hair was shorn boyishly short, and gaps in my teeth from the loss driven by growing up.

I remember holding onto my aunt, as my mother was not in the picture for specific reasons, crying, afraid not for myself, but for my five little brothers. I was terrified I would lose my three older brothers, two just joining to military services.

I was scared, terrified I might lose my family. That a war was going to take over the world.

But...

It was the sharp, twang of a steel guitar that caught my attention. The steady rhythm, sounding and pulsating like a heartbeat, made my own heart try to match the tempo.

“Who is that?” I remember asking m aunt. She smiled, her dark red/brown curls bouncing as we sat on her brown couch, comforted by each other and a black dog.

“His name is Toby Keith. Do you like him? His music?”

“Yeah...It’s pretty.” Since that time, I have loved his songs.

Courtesy of the Red, White and Blue. American Ride. Trailerhood. American Soldier. Red Solo Cup. Every time I heard one of these songs, I had to sing along, laughing internally as his deep, rich voice was poorly accompanied by a scratchy soprano. When CMC (Country Music Channel) displayed a music video, I rushed to watch it, joined by a few of my little brothers, and occasionally my father.

Every week, there was a Toby Keith song on the CMC, always in the top twenty, sometimes the top ten. To me, this man was larger than life, he had a presence that commanded attention. I never knew him as an actor, but I do believe I am going to go find some of his films later today.

Now today, I learned that he died. But it was yesterday, the 5th of the month. He left the world, leaving behind three grown children, and a stunning wife. As for tonight, I am going to raise up some whiskey, throw it back, and give my thanks to the man.

Rest in Peace, Rest in Power, and farewell.

Toby Keith, July 8th, 1961-February 5th, 2024. He was 62 years old.

Vocalpop culturehistorycelebrities
1

About the Creator

Jennisea Redfield

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.