Journal logo

Print Out Your Story Chapters For A Series, In Order To Help You To Write The Next Chapter.

A Tip To Help Those Who Write A Story Series.

By Carol TownendPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Print Out Your Story Chapters For A Series, In Order To Help You To Write The Next Chapter.
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

I have written several stories on Vocal that form part of a series. I left them for a while, until today when I decided to print them out in order to help me to write the next chapter.

I do spend time planning my stories, especially those that are fiction. I take time to develop the characters, themes, plots and main storyline. However, I find that without seeing the story in print; it can be hard to remember all the character roles, themes,plots and places.

To begin with, I was having to search through my vocal article in order to find the stories that I wanted to add a chapter too. I came across series's that I had started but forgotten about, hidden amongst all the other stories that I had written.

I saved these stories from my profile, and printed them out so that I could read through them, make notes and start the next chapter.

One problem I noticed that I have since becoming a writer is that once you start writing, the mind can become overwhelmed with different stories. This leads us to focus on writing new things, which is good but bad too; because it can also risk us forgetting about the stories we were already working on. As a result, we end up starting a story series, then instead of concentrating on that series, we end up writing about other things and forgetting about what we originally started.

Writing many stories is a good thing if you are passionate about it. However, it is good to do the following too:

  • Make a note of the current story that you are writing about.
  • Make a note of any series-titles that you start.
  • Print out the chapters of the series that you start. This way, you won't forget about them when writing other articles.
  • Write a plan which includes themes, plots, character names and roles in the story. This helps you to stay with the main plot of the story, and enables you to remember which character is which and what role they play in the story.
  • Printing out the story also helps you to review the current story line; enabling you to easily develop your story as you go along.
  • If, like me; you have several stories on the go, then print them all out so that you can reflect on each one and make any changes as you go along.

I spent this morning going through my profile, and printing out the collection of series's I have there out. It took me a while to do it, though now they are in print it is easier to find the chapters of my story, and plan my writing as I go.

Be sure to file your stories in order on paper, into a folder. This enables for easy reading and planning off-line, making it easier to write notes and plan your next chapter.

You can save your stories to a document folder on your computer, then print them out easily. Just be sure to only print and modify your own stories, and NEVER anyone elses.

I hope that these tips help you. They have certainly helped me today. I have a few series's to work on, but this will be easier, now they are in print and tucked away in a folder because I can easily refer to them as I plan my next chapter for each story without forgetting about them.

I also keep a separate notebook for writing notes when I am off-line. Planning stories away from the screen for a while, can enable you to focus on what is in front of you with no distractions.

Thankyou for reading. I have left links to my series's below:

advice
3

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jonathan Townend2 years ago

    Great useful hints, if only I could click the heart❤️‍🩹! I've given you a heart with a bandage on it, as it is obviously not feeling well here today....

  • Thank you for sharing these useful tips

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.