Journal logo

Prepare For The Change-Up

What's Necessary To Stay On The Path

By Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.Published 4 months ago 3 min read
5

I am not a morning person by any stretch of the Imagination.

I never have been.

It doesn't matter how much sleep I got the day(s) before - 6 hours, 8 hours, 10 hours, or 12 hours.

I simply don't like to get up.

For me, my best writing generally doesn't happen until I've been up for a few hours, so I "tend" to write either toward the middle of the day or the end.

However, today I sit to write early, much earlier than I like to be awake, and much much earlier than I like to work.

Why?

Today I will be out with my Family, and I know that the Fun will probably go late.

Between having fun and driving, it will be most, if not the entire day.

There is a possibility that I won't get home until around midnight.

Now, there's nothing inherently wrong with this, but it poses a Challenge to one of my Goals for the year - Writing and Posting an Article Every Day.

If I wait until I get home tonight, I may miss the time to post.

I have a 378 Day Streak (about to be 379) that will be completely gone if I miss it.

So, in order to both have Fun (an essential part of Life) and get my Article finished (an essential part of what I want to Accomplish), I have called for a Change-Up.

In Life, we will have many Goals and Needs to meet.

It is Inevitable that sometimes those different things may pose Challenges around aspects of our schedule.

In order to make it to any Goals we have though, we have to be open to making and calling for Change-Ups as necessary.

The Friday that just passed has become known as "Quitters Day", the second Friday of January.

It is the day when many apps see a noticeable drop in user rates, as people give up on their Resolutions.

On some apps, the Quit Rate is as high as 80%!

Now, that doesn't "quite" match the overall numbers (which will be around 45% at the end of January), but it's a noticeable dip.

Why does that happen?

Most people either struggle or refuse to make the call for a Change-Up.

They make a plan to do something like work out 5 Days a Week.

They also give themselves a "secret" rule that they MUST work out for at least an hour (or it doesn't count, to their psyche at least), and it must take place after 5 pm, but before 10 pm to get to sleep on time.

When they miss a day because they want to do something else or because they had a really hard day, they become deflated.

That deflation makes it difficult to keep going, psychologically.

Another day becomes missed.

The feeling becomes too much for most people, and they give up altogether.

It's Human to want to give up after feeling that kind of Deflation.

But it doesn't have to be this way, you don't have to give up!

We can always call for a Change-Up, and it can be done in SO many different ways.

Instead of going to the Gym late, sometimes you can also go early, or at lunch.

Instead of going for an hour, sometimes you can go for 15 mins, or even for only 5 mins if that's why you can fit.

Instead of going to a gym, have some exercises that you can do at home (or on vacation) that you can do ANYWHERE very easily.

For my writing, I have a minimum word count of 250 and I give myself the Freedom to do it at any point of the day as long as it is before midnight.

It may not feel "enough", or it may feel "wrong", but that voice is your Ego and it isn't serving you well at that moment.

Progress is Progress.

As long as you keep at it, it will eventually start to show through.

So I am here to encourage you if you have something you've been Struggling with toward your Goals, know that it's alright to call for a Change-Up.

You will have many things come up in Life that you will want and sometimes need.

That Change-Up can become your best friend to stay on the Path.

workflowwall streetVocalsocial mediaquotespop culturelistindustryhumanityhow tohistoryfeatureeconomycareerbusiness warsbusinessadvice
5

About the Creator

Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.

Creator of the Multi-Award-Winning Category "Legendary Leadership" | Faith, Family, Freedom, Future | The Legendary Leadership Coach, Digital Writer (450+ Articles), & Speaker

https://www.TheLeadership.Guide

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    But isn't this like common sense? I mean to me, this isn't enough for me to quit something. I'd always adjust my time to make sure I get something done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.