Journal logo

Our Autocorrect

Do We Miss Our Errors Because Our Brain Shows Us What The Text Should Be?

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
8

Introduction

As you will have noticed I am probably the worst writer you have come across. Although I use built-in spelling checkers and Grammarly I still make glaring spelling and grammatical mistakes and people continually point out how useless I am at writing, and from the faults I have mentioned above I have to agree,

I always read my articles when I have finished them, and they always look fine to me.

Do I Have Quality Control?

On my blog, there is none at all barring my own quick check, and there are people who will say there is none on posts like this, and again it is just my own visual checking with built-in and installed spelling and grammar checkers.

Although I have checked others' work when they have asked me to when I asked for reciprocal help on my own work I have been ignored or just insulted, so I gave up on that.

I often go back to my stories and notice errors, and thanks to Vocal’s Quick Edit feature I can correct any errors.

But even better than that my friend Dharsheena send me screenshots of my errors after they have been published. This is really helpful and means I often see other errors which I can also rectify in the same corrective editing session. Very often these don’t make sense to me, I am sure I haven’t typed what is set down so I assume it is an autocorrect error.

Do We Autocorrect When We Read?

Often we will read things and they look correct to us, but they may be full of mistakes but our brain autocorrects for us so we do not see any errors. This is one of the reasons I admire Dharsheena and manuscript editors and Proof Readers because they have to be able to switch off their built-in autocorrect. So that they can identify any errors from either spelling or grammatical perspectives. I call Dharsheena my "Word Girl" and I wrote this poem for her.

I think a good way to demonstrate this would be to include a few memes that show how our brains process apparent gobbledegook.

A Few Examples of How We Can Autocorrect

I spent two days wondering how to actually find the images below, phrases like "Code Reading" and "Reading Difficult Passages" were ones that I tried and when I announced that I had hit a veritable brick wall I thought maybe just "People Who Can Read This" and got all these images that you can have fun with below. The Google Search is here, which returns a lot more than I have included here.

See what you make of these and let me know what you think. I think these all prove we can see sense in apparent nonsense. When our minds see something that is actually wrong, it actually corrects it for us and we see something that is actually wrong as correct.

A Correct Conclusion On Incorrect Words

I was tempted to deliberately include some incorrect words but decided against it, so any errors that you find in this article are accidental and if you do find any let me know otherwise your own autocorrect has corrected the errors for you.

I believe our brains can be very capable tools in dealing with the often difficult task of reading stories, news and documents. We are usually unaware of what our minds do to give us the information that we are actually looking for.

So keep reading, keep learning, keep writing and keep on keeping on.

advicehow toworkflow
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    I agree with Dhar and Heather, and you as well. There a most often mistakes in mine as well, even though I read it umpteen times before publishing. Usually it's my bro who notices. Whenever he calls me shorting after I've entered a new piece, I usually answer with "What did I screw up this time?"

  • Oops, my identity was been revealed, lol! 🤣 I was able to read all those sentences with jumbled up letters. Also, it's more difficult to spot our own mistakes. I will read mine so many times yet there would still be mistakes that I've overlooked

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Great article! Too bad for those that give you a hard time!! I read an enormous amount of work on Vocal and Medium, and suffice it to say, almost everything I read has mistakes, some more glaring than others (including my own!). It's very difficult to edit your own work as you know what you're trying to say and your brain just sees what it wants to see. I've taken editing courses (for fun) and an easy way to view your own work for spelling and double words, etc (not for content) is to read it backwards. Or just have someone awesome like Dharrsheena look at it :) Thanks for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.