Journal logo

Nobody likes You When You’re Twenty-Three

But what about 24?

By Terri AllenPublished about a year ago 3 min read
7

So in less than a week I will finally be turning twenty four and I have decided to do a couple of things before that day. I want to have my house absolutely spotless beforehand so I have been tidying away at my house for the last few days, trying to make everything perfect. This is to try and get myself into a nice clear headspace before I begin to focus on chapter 24 of my story.

I have been reading non-stop and I plan on reading 100 books in a year so I have been writing a list, it contains books that I have read previously and books on my TBR list. I think that the more books I read the better I will get with my own writing, plus I enjoy reading. Reading a mixture of old and new books helps me to revisit the authors that made me realize I want to be a writer in the first place and discover new authors with their different writing styles.

I also want to get myself more put together with my writing, and become more consistent with producing words. This includes writing more articles, more words for my WIP and even just a few little short stories just to improve my writing in a low pressure way. I also want to find a lot more time this year to go back and do some editing of the words I already have and to really sharpen up my editing skills this year.

One more thing that I want to be able to do more of in my 24th year of life is to really focus on my future career goals. This would include stuff like spending more time updating my Twitter, Instagram and YouTube channel. I want to officially start YouTube more this year as well. On my TikTok page I want to post even more writing and book related content and try to grow my following even more.

I just think that having a good mixture of career related goals mixed in with the personal goals is really steadying and motivating. So that leads me onto the more personal goals I have set myself for this year.

The first one being to keep my house tidier than I usually would. I think the current goal will be an hour a day until I feel like I don’t need to force myself to do it everyday. Plus as soon as I get into cleaning on a daily basis then I will just clean what needs to be cleaned.

I don’t know how many times I’ve mentioned this before in my articles but I am in therapy and a big part of my personal growth with my therapy is to become more comfortable with myself. This means that I need to think of my past as a learning curve and to not go back down the roads that led me to be in similar situations. The biggest change I have already made to my recovery is I am going out on my birthday to celebrate. After years and years of not celebrating my birthday my friends and I have a full day of fun activities to celebrate. I don’t think I’ve ever been excited for my birthday before but Hayley and Danielle are doing wonders to make me feel like I am the star of December 21st. I have never been so grateful.

Another thing that I have always struggled with is relationships. I allow myself to go for the worst type of boy and I always tell myself that they are different. Spoilers…they are all the same. I want to allow myself the time and space to heal and figure out who I am for myself before I even start to think about getting into another relationship.

I am going to learn to be more comfortable with myself and focus on my goals for the future. Because I’m no longer twenty three and I’ll never be twenty three again.

advicecareerhumanityhumorinterviewsatireworkflowsocial media
7

About the Creator

Terri Allen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    I hope you had a wonderful birthday. Indeed, you won't be 23 or 24 again. Work hard, have fun and always remember to refill your cup (and bank account) 🤗

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    I hope you had an amazing birthday ❤️❤️

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Happy belated birthday! I appreciated that you took the time to get these thoughts down. I hope you're achieving the goals you set for yourself, but if not, it's ok to start wherever you are. Thanks for sharing this bit of you :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.