Journal logo

My Journey From Trauma to Transformation.

And the moment everything changed.

By Kelley RoulandPublished 3 days ago 3 min read
My Journey From Trauma to Transformation.
Photo by Aditya Saxena on Unsplash

Strength and growth come only through continuous effort and struggle. ~Napoleon Hill

Have you experienced trauma and struggled to overcome it?

I have.

For years after surviving domestic violence I held on to the notion that I should be ashamed of what happened to me. I thought that I was less of a person because I got myself into such a horrific situation.

I placed the burden of what happened on my shoulders and the weight was unbearable. I was moving through life in a dark and dreary place, but then there was a spark of light.

A seed was planted, but years would go by before it would bear fruit.

By Fumiaki Hayashi on Unsplash

One day while visiting a friend I watched The Secret, a documentary on the law of attraction. I was overjoyed! For the first time, I knew I could change my circumstances by merely harnessing the power of thought.

“Every adversity, every failure, every heartbreak, carries with it the seed of an equal or greater benefit.” ~Napoleon Hill

Yet, I would continue to struggle. For the next several years I suffered from depression and debilitating anxiety. At one point a doctor prescribed Xanax to manage the anxiety but that made it worse and led to addiction.

After switching to a new doctor I was able to move past the Xanax problem and began to focus on healthier ways to manage my anxiety. This was one of the hardest things I have ever had to do.

Life continued to improve for the next few years, but the real change happened when I discovered the work of Dr. Joe Dispenza.

Through his series Rewired on Gaia, I learned that our brains are like computer programs and most of our beliefs are fixed by the time we are in our mid-thirties.

He teaches that achieving real change is more than thinking positive thoughts, we have to reprogram our brains to change our beliefs, which is achieved through consistent meditation, visualization, and repeated affirmations.

By Javier Allegue Barros on Unsplash

Learning this was a turning point for me and I knew I had lots of work to do.

For the past 2 years, I have grown so much because of Dr. Dispenza's work. Nearly every day I watch his series or his YouTube videos. There is always something new to learn.

Is my transformation complete?

No.

But the person I was years ago is long gone. The girl who felt ashamed by the abuse she suffered has transformed into a strong woman who knows her value.

We have unlimited potential and can manifest anything we desire if we learn to unlock the unparalleled power of our minds. We can create triumph over tragedy and success over failure. We can construct the life we've always dreamed of by changing our thoughts.

May we all harness this unlimited power every day of our lives.

"Whatever the mind of man can conceive and believe, it can achieve." ~Napoleon Hill

Some questions:

Have you been on a transformational journey?

Have you overcome trauma? If so, how did you do it?

Is there an influencer or teacher who inspired your transformation?

I would love to hear your story!

Thank you for reading, and I look forward to hearing your comments. If you enjoy stories of hope and inspriation feel free to follow me!

Here is a link to Dr. Dispenza’s YouTube Chanel: https://www.youtube.com/@WorldisLifeOfficial/videos

This story was originally published by the author on medium.com.

advicehumanityfeature

About the Creator

Kelley Rouland

I am a passionate writer with experience in educational writing, news writing, content writing, and fiction. I have written research papers during graduate school and spent more the 7 years writing news scripts for a radio station.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kelley RoulandWritten by Kelley Rouland

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.