Journal logo

My Journey as a Teen Business Owner (Summer 2023)

Three highlights of my writing progress this summer.

By Allyson HowellPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Like
My Journey as a Teen Business Owner (Summer 2023)
Photo by Raphaël Biscaldi on Unsplash

This summer was filled with trips to the pool, camping, and most importantly...

Lots of writing progress!

There are three main things I did this summer that helped to push me and my blog further.

1. I attended a pre-college program at SCAD and took a creative writing class.

This summer, I went to Georgia for a week and stayed in a dorm for five days. I took a creative writing class and an advertising class.

I believe that both classes helped me a lot, even though they were only for five days. I learned a lot of information that I can use in my work and in my business.

2. I will be entering a handful of stories into the major writing contest taking place on Vocal this month!

I am very excited to announce this. Using money from grades and birthdays is allowing me to put $80 worth of stories into the contest.

I am really striving to get in the lead in at least one category, as I'm entering four.

I am so excited to enter. I only have a few more days to do so, but I know I'll make the deadline. If I win or get in the lead, this could be a very vital step in my career!

3. I have a creative writing class this year and I am involved in an event called "Six Plays in Six Days."

The creative writing class is especially exciting for me. I have been attending high school for three years now. For the past two years, I was unable to get an elective, as I go to two schools (10-hour school days!) and had to fulfill credits in my freshman and sophomore year.

However, that finally can get turned around, as my schedule revealed that I have a creative writing class next semester!

I am extremely happy about that because programs and classes that involve writing make me hyperfocus, and when I get into a mental state like that, I become unbelievably productive. I finally have the class I've been waiting two years for!

Speaking of unbelievable productivity, I wrote an entire (8-page) play last night!

For context, the program I was writing for is one at my second school, an art academy, called "Six Plays in Six Days."

This is another school element that I have waited years to get into, due to not having enough experience to participate.

After two years of missing out, I finally got to see why I was so sad about it.

The general idea is that a bunch of students sign up for different roles in a play. Actors, directors, playwrights, etc.

Then, we get split up into six groups and have six days to make six individual plays that are shown in a sequence at our school at the end of the week.

I have been working very well with the actors and our director. Last night was a production night, centered all around writing.

So, I finished an 8-page play in the span of about 2 and a half hours.

I can't believe I will be able to see my words on a stage. The idea alone is so surreal to me, and it makes me feel like I could write anything.

That is all of my highlights for the summer of 2023!

Summer vacation started off kind of slow and lazy, but now it seems like that was needed. Now, I'm in a zooming mindset of getting things done and written!

If you liked this, please consider subscribing to my page or even leaving a tip. Your support means the world to me so thank you for reading!

careerbusiness
Like

About the Creator

Allyson Howell

My name is Allyson Howell and I write about business, fiction, and everything related. I post monthly updates on the business side of my life, fiction, free verse poetry, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.