Journal logo

My Journey as a Teen Business Owner (miscellaneous update)

A change that I will be making to my Vocal series.

By Allyson HowellPublished 10 months ago Updated about a month ago 3 min read
Like
My Journey as a Teen Business Owner (miscellaneous update)
Photo by Javier Allegue Barros on Unsplash

Welcome back to my series that shares the long journey of owning a business as a teenager, someone who typically has nothing but school, friends and college on the brain. Or, if you haven’t seen entries from this series, I would suggest reading at least one article for context.

In summary: I have started a series about a year ago where I highlight some good and interesting things that have happened in the business and career side of my life in the past month.

However, if you have been following my page lately, you may notice (at least at the time I am writing this) that I haven’t uploaded any blog posts in two months.

Did something bad happen? Not really. I initially forgot to add my entry for June, and when I realized it had passed, I couldn’t really find any good highlights. It really stressed me out, so I did what I felt I needed to do, and I avoided it… and continued to avoid it.

July rolled around, and I realized the series had become sort of abandoned.

Now, it’s almost August, and I still haven’t posted a single thing.

So, here I am to say that the series isn’t finished, and neither is my page. Despite my long break, once again, I’m back and I’ll be posting as soon and as often as possible.

Something I’ve noticed is that writing for this series has become more of a chore than a passion project. It’s become very repetitive and shallow since I run out of things to share, so I have to spread out my entries better.

I don’t want it to become more of a chore than a hobby. I want to enjoy writing it, and I want to attract an audience that enjoys reading it. Writing should only be about things that are interesting and important, at least in my opinion.

Instead, I am implementing a change to my series. I realize that keeping up with monthly updates for a business that grows much slower than that doesn’t do the series justice, and I should really be able to take the time to list things out and share better results.

Because of this, I am updating this series to ideally be seasonal rather than monthly. At the end of each season, I will have three big highlights of what I have done or accomplished for my business or career in general, the way I have been. The difference will be that they will be more impactful, intentional, and meaningful.

Besides my lack of content and ideas, I’ve also had a lack of motivation.

Only getting a few reads, or even no reads on each article I write can get very uninspiring. I couldn’t find any reason to write if it wasn’t really for anyone.

Fortunately, I had a pre-college program where I took a creative writing class. When I shared with my teacher that I have been posting here, she encouraged me to keep going, so there’s another reason why I am returning.

Thank you to my small audience for taking the time to read this. I hope it grows a bit (or, honestly, a lot) more in the future because I put my heart into everything I write, even though it can get difficult.

If this sounds like something interesting, please consider reading an article from this series (or anything else!) on my page. I post this series along with short stories, challenge entries, and miscellaneous articles. Any and all support means the world to me, even if it’s small for now, so thank you!

humanitycareerbusiness
Like

About the Creator

Allyson Howell

My name is Allyson Howell and I write about business, fiction, and everything related. I post monthly updates on the business side of my life, fiction, free verse poetry, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.