Journal logo

My First Car

Stick Shift/ Manuel

By Mariann CarrollPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
4
My First Car
Photo by Isaiah McCarty on Unsplash

I learned how to drive a Stick Shift before I drove an automatic.

When I was twelve my mother bought me a car toy, that I can take around, Portable. It was kind of like a game in a way. It had shift and a wheel but not the pedals. It was red . I was a fan of Jeff Gordon, the Nascar racer. I was tomboyish growing up. I did not have any sisters. Just two brothers who was into wrestling. Yes, I wrestled with my little brothers but I always win. Lol

Getting back to my story, on my first car being Stick Shift. I learn first from a shift stick. My grandfather’s car was an old antique Hudson. Have you ever tried turning the wheel on those type of cars, lol? There is no power steering. You have to put your muscle into it. I am not tall. It was like driving a tank. That’s how I would imagine it would be like.

My grandfather asked a relative to teach me with their car cause he felt it would be harder for me to learn in an old antique car. My cousin was very patience with me . I could not get the uphill in stick shift for two weeks. I learned in a secluded up hill road. If you don’t shift right you end up going down the hill backwards. I finally got it. I had to learn the rules and safety of road next.

My first car was an Acura Integra with a sun roof. I felt like I was in a sports car. I had two jobs to be able to afford it at the time.

1990 Acura

I just go to work and drive my dog to the park in it. I did not do to much driving in it. I did not like that it was hard to eat with a stick shift car.

It was very good for gas mileage for sure. I did not have it for long.

My next car was a Red Car, Automatic. I had flaming stripe on the side. It really look like a race car but it did not have an engine for speed. Did I race cars on the street in it you asked? Yes, I did. I beat a Mustang, lol. If you don’t know how to shift, the car won’t go fast.

Jeffrey Gordon number 24 NASCAR driver was the style I was going for with my red car, lol. I felt like I was car racer in it. I live in a small City and there were not a lot of cars on the road during the time I had that car. I could not drive in it to long, my leg and foot would start crumping. They seat was too low. I ended up giving it to my brother after driving it for six years.

My next car was a PT Cruiser. It was very comfortable to drive. I never got foot and leg crumping driving the car. I guess, I got that car because it reminded me of my grandfather’s antique car. It was a four cylinder car. No more racing for me. Maybe if I got a turbo, PT Cruiser, it would be a racer,lol. I had my daughter so, my driving change as I got older.

I was a mail carrier, I got to drive the mail trucks where the driver seat was on the right side of the vehicle.

It was not as hard as I expected. They are not really good in the snow. The big trucks they used to have for picking up heavy packages and collecting the blue mail boxes around the city. It was very light so if you hit a bump the truck jump off the road. You have to make a wide turn on those. I get scared to drive them on a windy day, it felt like the wind can throw it over.

I hope you enjoy my first driving experience story. 😊

historylist
4

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Dear Ms. Mariann - You certainly always 'Pop-My-Clutch.' I still have a stick-shift 'Classic' car. But, not so worried that it will be stolen since the Youngins don't know what a 'Clutch' is for. May I share something with you? I haven't heard from Doc Sherwood/or Dana Crandall forever, and I always enjoyed their camaraderie. I must have said something to offend them since I'm not into contests of challenges. But I respect that they are and don't know what I did; I miss them. *Do me a favor? Check our my "This is DUDE" and please tell me if I over sold on this one. Never my intent to promote anyone in my stories so you opinion if I did that would mean so much to me ~ I may be too close to the forest to see the trees? Best, Jay

  • Local Cash For Car9 months ago

    I absolutely loved reading about your memorable first car experience! It reminded me of the sentimental value our vehicles hold. If you're ever looking to part ways with your old truck, especially in the Brisbane area, considering options like "cash for trucks Brisbane" could help you turn those cherished memories into something tangible. Keep sharing your wonderful stories! 🚚💰 https://www.localcashforcar.com.au/cash-for-trucks-brisbane/

  • Thanks for sharing this with us, Mariann! When I learned to drive it was in an automatic. My wife decided it was time for me to learn to drive her stick. We were driving back home to Camden, MO from Kansas City. There was a terrible accident on the highway. The entire way it was stop & start. At one point we were directed to a detour which left us at an intersection on a steep incline where we had to continue our stop & start. I killed the engine once the entire drive--on that incline--with a car right behind me (pretty close). It certainly was an effective way to learn how to drive a stick!

  • I learnt driving using a stick shift and even got my license. But I have no idea how it works, lol! I only know how to drive an automatic. And you're soooo cool! I wanna drive a truck too!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.