Journal logo

My Crush In Elementary

Pilot Friend

By Mariann CarrollPublished about a year ago 3 min read
My Crush In Elementary
Photo by Rayyu Maldives on Unsplash

I was in six grade when I met my classmate Tom. Tom is not his real name. I change it to protect his privacy.

I liked Tom because he was a very nice person. He was very friendly to everyone. Tom was from Canada. When you have crush on someone, you find out all you can about that person. He never hide wanting to be a pilot someday. He was always looking out the window in our classroom.

2014

Tom found me on Facebook, I accepted him as my Facebook friend. He found me through one of our Facebook friend who was also our classmate.

I was surprised when he told me he had I crushed on me. I told him I had a crush on him, too. We reminisced on our elementary school days. We talked about getting together.

He have two kids and was divorced. I was in a commented relationship at the time so I tried to keep our conversation in a safe topic. Tom is a great flirt. It’s his personality. He just have a very likable personality.

Tom is a pilot and he would give me call when he come into town. I would find an excused on why I cannot met up with him. He would always say for friendship sake. I always find a way out cause I believe in being faithful.

One of our classmate organized a breakfast reunion. We all met up at the local famous donut delite. Tom sat next to me. I was wondering why no one else sat next to me. We all talked about our good old days in school. Talk about our childhood pranks . There were a lot of laughter and reminiscing.

Tom and I was left alone at our table at the restaurant. He started to asked me about myself. I finally felt very shy.🫣 I was blushing like a teenager. Is this real, I am seating next to my crush. He was trying to asked me out on a date. My morals was very strong . What would you do ?

Every time he had a overnight stop in my City, he would always contact me. We would chat. He talk about his family and his flying adventures. I never met up with him .

My committed relationship of seven years ended a few years after I met Tom. Tom gotten married. He still tried to chat with me . The last time he tried to get together, his flight was cancelled and it was not a job flight. He was visiting his brother . He got in a family argument over their mother’s house. He did not book an hotel. I felt bad I could not be of help.

I called my other classmate for adviced. She told me he is a grown man, he can take care of himself. I told him, I did not feel right having him over. He said he will be a gentleman and stay on my couch.

I did not want to lose his friendship so, I said sorry, I could not invite him over. I know you can stay at an airport safely. He did get his flight the next morning. We are still friends and we still chat .

I wrote this because opportunity comes, it’s up to you if you want to get onboard the ship that is passing. I did not want to break up a family. I am happy just being his friend. We kept on passing each other at the wrong time. I thought this experience would be good to share for the Passing Ships Challenge 2023 .

Thank you for reading .

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Keep it Friendly ❤️💯😉👣

  • Star-crossed crushes. He does sound like a bit of a player. Probably wise you being cautious & keeping it on a friend level.

  • Will Shimnom Simonabout a year ago

    Beautiful story. I'm glad you were sensible enough to take precaution against what might turn out to be an unpleasant situation.

  • Jazmin Fernandezabout a year ago

    That’s a Nice story of you and your friend Mariann and Good luck💗

Mariann CarrollWritten by Mariann Carroll

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.