Journal logo

My Adventures as a Pizza Delivery Driver

Albert

By Rhonda FarleyPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

The thunder rolls and the lightning strikes! Not long ago, I arrived at work on a gloomy, stormy morning. It was one hundred percent chance rain for the day. When I walked to the back of the store to get my car topper for the day, the developmentally challenged employee was already there folding boxes. I went outside real fast in the rain and placed the car topper on top of my car, and ran back inside to clock in for the day. The Manager on Duty clocked me in and handed me a bank for the day. The bank is for the delivery drivers to make change with at a customer's location if need be when they are paying with cash money.

Before I knew it, I heard my name being called and I was already ready to go on my first delivery. When it rains, the store stays extremely busy. I went on my delivery and when I arrived at my customer's location, it was pouring down rain. I sat in my car a good five minutes or so before I got out of my car. I got out of the car and ran around the car to get my order out and moved forward to the customer's porch. I rang the doorbell and the customer comes to the door, amazed that I showed up in a rain storm to deliver their food. The customer asks me to step inside for a second while I was giving them their food and to sign the receipt. I politely let the customer know that I was not allowed to come inside. At that point, the customer hurried along with his business at the door and before I knew it, I was on my way back to the store again and I carefully drove back in the rain.

When I made it back to the store, I logged back in and proceeded to the back of the store to work on getting the rest of the food prepped for the day. I went into the walk-in to get some food, and I walked back out and put my box on the prep table. It was pouring the rain outside, and by now, the storm had rolled in. All of a sudden, there went a loud BOOM of thunder! Then the lightning flashed! I guess that it scared the developmentally challenged employee and he busted out in song!

Really loud, I heard, in a singing voice, "And the thunder rolls! And the lightning strikes!" He burst out so loudly that it frightened me until I realized what was going on. As he was singing, he flew both of his arms up in the air. Then he said, that sure is a good tune. Looking at me, he said, do you know that song? I said, yes I do, and I like listening to that song. He then started talking about the country music artist Garth Brooks. He asked me if I had ever heard of him before. I said yes, I have heard of Garth Brooks, and I enjoy his music.

I am sure there will be a lot more stories to tell about the developmentally challenged employee at work, so, therefore, he needs a fictitious name. From now on, we will call the developmentally challenged employee, "Albert." Albert is such a pleasure to work with, I enjoy the days when he is at work, folding boxes.

careerhumor
Like

About the Creator

Rhonda Farley

I work part-time delivering pizzas for Papa Johns. I love to spend my days off from work cooking, baking, or trying any new recipe. I also love to spend days painting. I love spending time with family and friends and both of my pets.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.