Journal logo

My Adventures as a Pizza Delivery Driver

The Mall

By Rhonda FarleyPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

One day at work, I had a pizza delivery come up and it was not to one of my favorite places to go.

The delivery was to the local mall in town. Most of the time, the customers that do order pizza will come outside to met the delivery drivers, unless they say that they are manning the store where they work by themselves. If that is the case, then you have no choice but to park your vehicle and go inside to make the delivery.

I was working away and I heard my named being called as I was the next one up for a delivery. I moved forward to the front of the store and what do you know? I had a double delivery. I bagged both of my orders up and proceeded outside. I placed both orders in the passenger seat of the car and walked around to get in. Once inside, I looked at my receipts as to both of the locations to where that I was headed. Great, one of the deliveries was to the mall and the other one was in a close-by neighborhood that was near the mall. Since I really do not like delivering pizzas to the mall, I decided to deliver the pizza that was in the neighborhood first then I would proceed on to the Mall.

I made my first delivery and I drove on to the mall. I found the customers receipt and was going to call them up to have them meet me outside. But wait! Instead was a delivery remark that said: kiosk booth located across from whatever store that was inside. I realized at this point that I had to park my car and go inside. This was a busy Saturday afternoon, and it took me forever to find a place to park. I parked my car, got the order out, and proceeded inside to find the location of my customer at the kiosk booth. I walked around inside for about five minutes before I arrived at the kiosk booth. Upon arrival, I went to give my customer his pizza and he immediately says, “Do you mind if I ask you a question?”

I said, "Sure." I had no idea what this guy was going to ask me.

He said, "What took you so long to get here? It took you over an hour to get my pizza to me."

I said, "Your total is (how much ever it was)." And he handed me the money for his pizza. No tip! I felt like saying to this customer, next time get your pizza from the food court. I did not reply to his smart comment about what took me so long to get to his location.

I proceeded back out to the parking lot. I could not find my car anywhere. No blue Honda with the pizza topper on it anywhere to be seen. People were coming and going, I had asked several people that I seen that day at the Mall if they could help me out in finding my car, all of them ignored me or walked as fast as they could from me, as I was in need of some help. I thought that I was going to have to find security to get them to help me find my car. I called work and told them that I could not find my car and that I was going to be awhile getting back to the store. I bet I walked around a good thirty minutes that afternoon before I finally found my car, parked in the exact same spot as I left it.

I sure am glad that nobody stole my car that day, but the mall is not one of my favorite locations to deliver pizzas, especially when I have to park and go inside. After I found my car that day, I sat in it for a good ten minutes regrouping and cooling off with the air conditioner on in the car.

careerhumor
Like

About the Creator

Rhonda Farley

I work part-time delivering pizzas for Papa Johns. I love to spend my days off from work cooking, baking, or trying any new recipe. I also love to spend days painting. I love spending time with family and friends and both of my pets.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.