Journal logo

Inside the Mind of a Writer

Why do I do it?

By Alicia Sleyster SchmidtPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

As of now, I'm a 29-year-old writer. What do I write? How do I get there? Well, that's a good question. Sometimes, I don't know either. The only thing I do know is that I have spent years writing, either online, or on MS Word. If you do write, I'm sure there are mediums that you use. I use the medium Wattpad. Bottom line is: I enjoy it. I find that I can empty my mind the more I pour into a page. However, my mind continuously fills up, which is why, no matter what stage of a novel my previous work is at, I always start a new one. That may sound inefficient, but I at least like to have a direction, then forget what I wanted to write completely.

The downside to that, is that there are always unfinished works on my laptop. But I don't let that get me down. I go back and forth between my works, and write the ideas that flow for each. The way I start is by making basic outlines, and basic character plots and ideas. For example, I start by jotting down characteristics before I even make names. In my head, I can see the way the character looks, and then think "Oh! That person looks like..." and I choose the name. Like with anything in writing, I go through versions of names before I make the final decision.

At this juncture, I do have a completely finished, edited novel. This was a novel I started in 2014. It emerged from the dark recesses of my mind, and watching too many vampire movies/shows. However, it does have my own twist. Also, I will admit there are some seriously racy scenes. However, none compares to the other stories I have written, but they aren't finished.

I will say this. You do not necessarily need to have a dark mind, or strange thoughts to write a book. For me, I started because the idea hit me in my sleep. Yes, I said my sleep. When I have dreams, and when I'm in the shower are the times that ideas tend to flow naturally. I always keep something next to my bed so I can write things down. Molding those ideas, even if they are fuzzy, can help form something concrete.

My mind works differently, or not so differently, from other writers. I have the ability to picture scenes in my head with the characters, thinking of multiple outcomes, and what I think the best result would be. In so doing, I can push the book in any direction that I want. I find that to be the most satisfying part if writing. There is no right or wrong. There is simply the words on the page. Either a person likes them or they don't. Regardless, the feeling you get after writing something that you are either passionate about (ie: a hobby), or if you're writing some form of fiction, there is no right or wrong.

The frustrating part for me is to find a publisher. Here I have this completed, and edited book, but so far, I've had no one interested in it. Granted, my online book, which is a different version, has just about 600k likes, and thousands of comments on it. A large reason why I continue to write. I push through the frustration, however hard it may be on my psyche. Nothing in life, if you're passionate about it, comes easy.

Bottom line, for me, I want to inspire others to do what they are passionate about. I want them to see this book, see the impact it has on others, and be inspired to do something they are passionate about. I love writing, I love the process, and I hope one day that I will be an accomplished author. I'm not looking for fame. I'm simply looking to be recognized for my work, and my talent.

career
Like

About the Creator

Alicia Sleyster Schmidt

To the beautiful people,

Everyone goes on a journey, and here is mine! I'm very excited to begin, and go on this exciting adventure with you all!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.