Journal logo

If you just lost your job, read this

#3 pieces of advice for the freshly unemployed. These won’t get you a job instantly but…they will help a bit.

By PHILLY THE AFRICANAPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1

HI there ;P,

So! I recently got fired from my job that I worked for almost 2 ½ years! Yay! *secretly panics and reaches for the nearest blunt* What’s the reason you ask? Mind your business, I'm sharing enough already (jk ;P).

Remember, if you need a drink, a joint or a freaking nap, by all means, do that. You and I deserve it, we really do people.

Anyway, for whatever reason you may have lost your job, it's not your fault because high key that job wasn’t paying enough anyway.

Ok seriously, losing your job is one the scariest things that could really happen in your adult life. You have so many responsibilities, bills and people to handle. I just got out of 5 years of homelessness and into my own place, where I pay the bills. After losing my job, how am I supposed to find a new job just in time to pay my bills! Help!

Low key i’m already in debt, if you are reading this, you probably are too so don’t judge yet.

On top of that, looking for a job is extremely exhausting; Traveling to interviews, Time & energy, Waiting for call backs that 85% of the time, DON’T CALL BACK….ahhhhh its so fucking annoying. See the thing is, after 5 years of homelessness, I know for a certain: YOU ARE MORE POWERFUL THAN YOU THINK YOU ARE, period! You are worthy and more deserving than you believe. Every time you question your worth for a better life, that is your fear underestimating your focus and strength. It's important that we change our mindset as we look for better opportunities, moving to the next chapter of our lives. You must be brave when turning the page to see what happens next in your story. Like my mother advised me, “Begin to expect the good things”- Pastor Epodusa King (2021).

The first piece of advice I give to myself (from the many lessons learned) is; Stop moving like you are preparing to lose. After losing my job, I didn't realize until later that I was subconsciously preparing for the worst case scenario, as if expecting the worst to happen to me. This is always a good idea except when you believe you don’t deserve the best: Imposter syndrome (doubting your own abilities). I was thinking, moving, making decisions like I was sure going back to homelessness again. Being extremely triggered, I began unconsciously bracing for impact and giving up on a better life. I had to sit myself down and remind myself, I did not come this far just to go back to poverty. I am the same woman who busted her ass (with the love of family/friends) and removed herself out of homelessness. I am her, she is me, we are the same Woman. It's important to change your mind and believe you are deserving, because you are. Stop automatically believing you won’t make it, because as soon as you believe it, it becomes true. You are still that person that overcame the things that were meant to kill you. Don’t doubt your power now, don’t doubt your value because a job no longer wants you.

The second piece of advice I give myself is; It is BECAUSE you have survived worse is the best reason to trust yourself and the process, even the bumpy times like now. One thing we all know is, problems are limitless. There are always going to be problems, both old and new. Everybody has problems and a lot of them are very similar to the ones you have. You are not ridden with bad luck. You are not cursed. You are not a bad human being. You’re not an ingrate. You are not the villain of your own story. You are not less than everyone just because you don’t know their problems. We are all cos playing as normal functioning people, but we all have some wires that need untwisting and wrenches that need removal. As soon as you remember everyone is struggling too, it makes you feel better (is this weird?…nah). It's very important to believe in yourself. I remind myself that no matter what happens to me, Philipa will always be OK, please remind yourself too. I usually don’t know how it’s going to happen, but I'm a survivor and so are you. I choose to trust myself. I trust my body, mind and soul. Trust your heart. Trust your skills, Trust your intelligence. Trust your experience. Trust your process. Trust your strength. Trust your hustle. Trust your resilience. Trust your story. Trust your ability to win. Believe in your Power and trust you can use it well.

The third piece of advice I give myself is; Remember who you want to be, where you want to be and why you want to be (what was your goal again? what are you trying to achieve?). For me, honestly, I just want to be a Billionaire businesswoman (female Mansa Musa) and one of The most successful international music acts in the entire globe (nothing major at all...DEADASS!). That’s all I really want. The ability to take care of my family and myself with no care in the world, like everyone else. Everyone has varying goals in their lives, some bigger than my small goals (lol). Whatever your goals may be, its very important to remember why you work so hard everyday. It's important to remember why you put blood sweat and tears in whatever minimum wage job you use to work. That ex-job you lost is not the end all be all, losing a job does not disqualify you from achieving your dreams; You are still on track to reaching your goals. As scary as Change is, sometimes life will remove you from wherever you are to move you to where you are supposed to be. Whenever change happens, however it happens, you are capable of entering the new chapter of your life. As you go on doing what you need to do (look for a new job, apply for food stamps/assistance, take out a loan, take a break, move to your friends/family, try new things or finally chase your dreams) move with confidence in your power and go after what you desire, because you are capable, worthy and life is yours for the taking, PERIOD.

DON'T LET YOUR ANXIETY, TRAUMA, SOCIETY or anything else lie to you. There is so much more to your story.

advice
1

About the Creator

PHILLY THE AFRICANA

Hello,

welcome to my page where i write about my experiences, Grab a coffee and enjoy the reads. XOXO

My music link on Spotify (please listen): https://open.spotify.com/album/56wUvwb7vsvBenVNiCFpma

follow me on instagram "@howtobephilipa"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.