Journal logo

How to Fall in Love With Writing Again

It's been waiting for you to text back

By Elise L. BlakePublished 10 months ago 3 min read
1

Like an old high school romance sometimes we fall out of love and unfortunately, this can happen to writing as well. 

When I first lost my job due to the global pandemic I couldn't find it in myself to write anything. It took a while for me to find my way back to it, even deciding to use that time to finish my degree and graduate with my BA in Creative Writing wasn't enough to rekindle my love - at that point it had begun to feel more like a chore after all the assignments I had been made to write and revise in such a short amount of time. 

It took over a year, more time than I would like to admit, for me to open up any of my story documents and find my love again. 

It wasn't easy, but when I found it again - I haven't stopped writing since. 

Here's how you can find your way back to your long lost long of writing just as I have. 

Take a Break

Sometimes we get overwhelmed with writing and that's okay. Sitting down every day to write story after story or even just working on the same story can be draining emotionally, physically, and creatively. I know I've felt that way when it comes to my fiction work and many other's I've spoken with have as well. 

 Sometimes, the best way to reconnect with your love for writing is to step away from it for a while. 

Give yourself permission to take a break, and allow your mind to rest and recharge. 

Reconnect with Your Writing Why

 Sometimes we need to reflect on the reasons why we started writing in the first place when the task seems hard. 

Ask yourself what it is that made you fall in love with storytelling. 

Revisit your initial motivations, go back in time in your mind to when that very first idea of writing your own stories came to you. For some, it was long ago at the beginning of their lives while others may have had this moment more recently and that's ok. 

This why should still be true today so by rediscovering it you can remind yourself why it is you fell in love with writing. 

Experiment with New Writing Approaches

Sometimes, a shift in your writing routine or style can bring back the excitement. 

Try experimenting with new writing approaches, such as exploring different genres, experimenting with various narrative techniques, or tackling unconventional topics. 

Stepping out of your comfort zone can spark fresh ideas and reignite your creativity.

Find Inspiration in Others' Work

 If you are a writer, you should be a reader. 

There are no ifs, ands, or buts about this. 

You should be reading everything, but also within the area you are trying to write. This may give you inspiration for your own stories or teach you a lesson in writing that may be mentally blocking you from writing. 

There's nothing wrong with being inspired by someone else's work, that's kinda how life goes. Everyone got their inspiration from somewhere -  just think about how many Romeo and Juliet or Cinderella retellings there are in the world. 

Cultivate a Supportive Writing Community

Sometimes all we need to refind our love for writing is the support from a community that knows exactly what we're feeling and others with the same passions and problems that we are facing.

Join writing groups, attend workshops or conferences, or participate in online writing communities. these can provide you with support, encouragement, and opportunities for collaboration.

---

Writing is a journey, not to be too metaphorical, but well - I am a writer. 

You can't drive from Boston to California without stopping, looking for directions, or calling for roadside assistance every once in a while and it's ok if your writing journey is the same. 

As long as you get back on the road and continue on. 

Keep Writing. 

With love, 

B. King xo xo

____________________________________________________

*If you've liked what you read you can show your support by subscribing, pledging your support, or leaving me a tip that directly supports and aids me as a writer.

By joining Vocal+ you can earn more per read on every story you publish on Vocal.

Click my link to start your 7-day free trial today and start earning more for your stories.

_____________________________________________

This story was originally posted on Medium. Join Medium as a member for just $5/month to access premium content and help me continue creating articles like these. You can also earn money by posting your own stories using Mediums' Partner Program.

Help power my writing with a virtual coffee! Starting at just $1. Your support keeps my creativity brewing. Treat me to a cup! ☕

Thanks for your support and happy writing!

careerliteraturehow toadvice
1

About the Creator

Elise L. Blake

Elise is a full-time writing coach and novelist. She is a recent college graduate from Southern New Hampshire University where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.