Journal logo

How To Develop a Writing System

Using a practical writing system to meet your goals

By Elise L. BlakePublished 10 months ago 3 min read
1

All writers need to have a system. 

It's true whether they know it or not. You may even have one without realizing it. 

I never knew that I wrote better at night until I tried to work on my novel first thing in the morning instead of articles and I couldn't seem to find my writing flow. 

You may now be asking, 'But if I already have a system why do I need this article?'

Because you may only have a small understanding of what your system is, or like me, you aren't even aware that you have one and the goal of this article is to help you develop the best writing system for you or find one if you don't already have one. 

Write For At Least 30 Minutes 

Yes, this is where we are going to start and 30 minutes is the minimum amount of time that you should be dedicated to writing each and every day.

The first goal in finding your writing system is knowing when during the day these 30 minutes are going to be ideal for writing. 

 Some write better in the morning, some like me, write better when the house is asleep, and then there are those you can sit down in the middle of the afternoon (that'll I'll never understand, but also secretly envy) and write their stories then. 

It doesn't matter what part of the day you choose to write or when your writing chooses for you, it's only important that it happens, every day, with no excuses.

Part of your writing system is building the habit of writing, it's not a habit if you do it whenever you feel like it. The goal is consistency.

Have a Dedicated Writing Space 

My space is my computer, nestled into the corner of my bedroom, facing a wall, beside a window that always has the blinds closed because I am too easily distracted by the trees that stand beside it. 

When it's time for me to write I sit at my desk, open my documents, and begin writing. 

It's become such a habit that even when I find myself on a day where I have no writing to complete I still automatically open my files before remembering that I'm actually only checking my emails. 

In order to have an effective system you have to have a place of your own that is solely dedicated to those 30 minutes you've made to write every day. 

This can be a couch, a piece of your kitchen table, or even the floor of your bathroom if it's the only place you have where you won't be bothered. 

Sure someone might comment that you've been in there a while, but I'm sure you can make an excuse or two and they'll move on. 

Repeat 

You have your time to write and your space to write, now you just need to do the most important part - write. 

Writing isn't a complicated process and really can be narrowed down into three simple steps. 

➡Write

➡Edit

➡Publish

then repeat step one. 

With your writing system in place this should start to get easier for you with each passing day until you don't even have to think about it, you'll just find yourself doing it. 

Now get to writing.

With Love, 

B. King xo xo 

---

____________________________________________________

*If you've liked what you read you can show your support by subscribing, pledging your support, or leaving me a tip that directly supports and aids me as a writer.

By joining Vocal+ you can earn more per read on every story you publish on Vocal.

Click my link to start your 7-day free trial today and start earning more for your stories.

_____________________________________________

This story was originally posted on Medium. Join Medium as a member for just $5/month to access premium content and help me continue creating articles like these. You can also earn money by posting your own stories using Mediums' Partner Program.

Help power my writing with a virtual coffee! Starting at just $1. Your support keeps my creativity brewing. Treat me to a cup! ☕

Thanks for your support and happy writing!

literaturehow tocareerbusinessadvice
1

About the Creator

Elise L. Blake

Elise is a full-time writing coach and novelist. She is a recent college graduate from Southern New Hampshire University where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.