Journal logo

How to Be Brave With Your Writing

Being Authentic in Your Writing Will Make it Popular

By Jason ProvencioPublished about a year ago 5 min read
2
Don’t fear anything or anyone when it comes to your writing. Be YOU. Image by Stefan Keller from Pixabay

One of my favorite aspects of being a writer is having the opportunity daily to share my truth. I am proud of who I am and proud of my beliefs. I am always hopeful about influencing change in the world. We need a better world for our children and future generations.

Sadly, we’re not there yet. I read about so many horrible things going on in our country and realize that there will always likely be a need for change. I have my doubts that I’ll live to see a kind, accepting country for all citizens during my lifetime.

This can be discouraging. You’ve probably noticed that I write about the topics of politics and religion frequently. These are two subjects that I feel cause a lot of the turmoil and evil that we read about happening in the United States.

And don’t get me started about the MAGA crowd.

The upside to writing about my belief in true acceptance and equality for all is the wonderful compliments I receive from my followers here on Medium. I estimate that 95% of the feedback I receive is supportive of my viewpoint that we need to fight against racism, bigotry, sexism, and homophobia. You are all awesome.

Sometimes, a reader will make a comment to the effect of, “You’re so brave with your writing.” or “You come across as being very authentic in your beliefs and it makes your writing enjoyable.”

Being brave with your writing is taking one step at a time with each idea and article. Writing without a safety net. Image by Alexa from Pixabay

Thank you. I appreciate that. The reasoning for this is that I don’t give a fuck.

Let me explain that statement. I truly DO care about the wonderful people who feel similarly to how I do about wanting better for this country and for all groups of people. We should all be united and want the best for our brothers and sisters here on Planet Earth.

But what you might define as bravery in my writing is just my “give a fuck” being broken. Uninstalled. Likely sitting in a pile of garbage at the city dump. It’s not coming back, at age 48. I’ve been this way far too long to change.

When most of us hit middle age, we are pretty set in our beliefs. We tend to be more comfortable with ourselves and are less likely going to change our views or the way we do things to appease someone else. I have zero plans to ever change the way I write or the way I say things.

I’m a loving person. I am truly glad to know you and to be kind and supportive of you and your writing. I will always have your back if you’re a good, caring human being. However, I can swing to the other end of the spectrum in a New York minute, if provoked.

I wrote a piece last night after hearing about my estranged mother-in-law’s recent comment, in her words, “The teachers in America are turning the kids into the homos.” You can see a screenshot of her deplorable comments here:

There’s a reason why we’ve been estranged from this woman for over 3 years now. It’s justified. Willful ignorance, racism, and bigotry are not acceptable. Especially around my mixed-race Bride and children, and our gay daughter.

Grandma is from Vietnam. She was born and raised there. She married my Bride’s father and moved to the United States during the Vietnam War. You think she’d understand this racism and bigotry bullshit by now, and realize that those views are NOT a good look on her.

But she chases the almighty dollar. It’s all about having money, possessions, and status. Never mind that she alienates everyone and has nobody in her life. Other than those dicks Tucker Carlson and Ben Shapiro. She worships Donald Trump, as well.

The reason I write with authenticity and honesty is because of people like her. People like my parents. People that post ignorant, racist, bigoted nonsense online. I don’t give a shit what people think of my writing if it isn’t supportive of my ideals and goals for equality.

I’m also not imprisoned by religion. I don’t give a good goddamn if people don’t like that I curse. At least I come real with it. You’ll never have to worry that I’m being some fake asshole and lying to you about my views to spare anyone’s feelings.

I don’t care who reads my writing and sees these kinds of words or feelings I express. Whether it’s my family, friends, social media contacts, or strangers, what I write is my truth. If you can’t accept my viewpoints about equality, then move along.

My philosophy about trying to please everyone in the world. Photo by George Pagan III on Unsplash

If reading the word “fuck” bothers you, you’re following the wrong writer. I’m certain this is the reason I’ve been blocked by more than a few people during my time here on Medium. That’s fine with me. I refuse to be fake and censor myself to comfort your ignorance.

You may not like that I detest Donald Trump and the MAGA movement. And that’s your right, just as it’s mine to write about the things I want to, often with brutal honesty. I wear my emotions on my sleeve, and that sleeve is on full display through my writing.

If you want to be brave with your writing, stop caring about what certain people may say about it. If you’re afraid someone will be offended by cursing, then edit or censor it. If you don’t want to write about politics or religion because it might hurt someone’s feelings, then don’t.

But if you want your writing to be brave, bold, and authentic, then to Hell with the naysayers. Tell them what I tell people in my orbit:

Either line up alongside me and let’s have each other’s backs, or kindly fuck right off.

And I say that with love. I have love for all people, except for racist, bigoted, sexist, and homophobic people. If I feel I can reach those people and help them change through my writing, cool. But if I feel that my efforts are futile, and they have no desire to learn a better point of view, then best of luck to you.

Be brave in your writing by being honest. Stand for something and don’t fear the negative blowback. The real ones will have your back and will be supportive. You don’t need everyone in the world to be your BFF.

I’d rather have four quarters than 100 pennies, any day. &:^)

advicefact or fictionfeaturehow tohumorliterature
2

About the Creator

Jason Provencio

78x Top Writer on Medium. I love blogging about family, politics, relationships, humor, and writing. Read my blog here! &:^)

https://medium.com/@Jason-P/membership

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.