Journal logo

How I accidentally stumbled into decision-making and chose a CAREER out of it.

What’s your current Golden Rule when it comes to decision-making?

By LeeannPublished about a year ago 4 min read

“Decisions can lead you forward, but they can also put you down.”

“Every decision is geared toward other plans in your life.”

What are my precise options? Is now the right time? How well do I trust my gut feelings? Those are the questions we come up with when we make decisions. We are all limited to options or choices. Not everyone is skilled at making decisions in their personal and professional lives. I had been going through this for a long time to make decisions in my life. Finally, I bumped into this thing; it helps me a lot to make decisions. It’s nothing but a SWOT principle.

“ SWOT is SHOT in your life.”

Have you ever heard about the SWOT principle? Here’s a breakdown of what I did and how I did it to choose my career using SWOT, so you can put some of my strategies into practice.

SWOT Rule

It’s a compilation of strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats. It helps to consider all the factors involved in making a good decision. SWOT can help you to reduce/avoid risk & uncertainty. It provides a realistic insight into what you are good at and not.

It is merely a three-step process.

  • SWOT Analysis
  • Compare
  • Make decisions

Step 1: SWOT Analysis

Asking the simple questions myself to know my strengths, weaknesses, opportunities & threats. You can frame your own question using the principle 5W 1H [5W- What, Where, When, Who, Why & 1H-How], it is a tool to question everything.

SWOT ANALYSIS

Once I asked myself the questions above, I found the answers below.

Jot down a few points.

Strength: It’s something you’re good at and don’t have to learn about.

  • I have good communication skills, and being able to use language precisely has helped me express my ideas clearly.
  • I have the patience to await the results.
  • I’m good at writing creatively.
  • I can come up with innovative articles.
  • Time management skill: I can wrap up the article within the allotted time.
  • I have a sense of humor in print.
  • I am proficient in writing with visual media.

Weaknesses: Things you are terrible at and how to deal with them

  • Procrastination in story writing.
  • Consider delivering an ideal article to readers.
  • To make an ideal article, it took too much time to write a single article.
  • No experience with writing platforms.
  • Lack of guidance because of the new writing platform

Opportunities: these are the possibilities in other fields that expand your career and knowledge.

  • It will explore other domains such as blogging, writing content, etc.
  • Perhaps I will have the chance to write my book.
  • It will enhance my skills by working on various platforms.
  • Maybe I have a shot at publishing my audiobooks and podcasts.
  • Get recognition for events if my writing was good
  • It will improve my social networking through social media like FB, IG, Twitter, Pinterest, blogs, etc.

Threats: Everything that adversely affects from the outside.

  • I am a Hodophile and I like to travel very much. If I choose writing as my career, that limits me to travel overseas or anywhere.
  • Publishing my book will be difficult if there is a dearth of funding.
  • If I am not successful in writing my articles or publishing my book, it may lead to unemployment.
  • Having poor transcription skills

Step 2:Compare

After analyzing and enumerating all my strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats, compare them with one another. Through comparison, I have come to know the level of my strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats.

Step 3: Decision

I choose writing as a career, comparing my strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats. I make decisions with a great deal of strength and opportunity, not weakness and threat. I choose to be an author by deciding about this method (SWOT).

“Indecision can give you time to think about it, but you cannot have another chance to seize the opportunity.”

Takeaway

It is used not only to choose a career path but also to discover your strategies and identify areas for improvement, with a focus on leveraging strengths and opportunities to overcome weaknesses and threats.

Nowadays, decision-making is one of the most crucial and challenging tasks for all. In order to make a good decision and minimize risk and uncertainty, choose a decision with abundant strengths and opportunities rather than weaknesses and threats.

“Decisions can make or break you in both life and career.”

Bonus Points

Below, I attached some tools you can use to generate your SWOT analysis.

Software tools

1. SWOT Analysis Generator

2. Lucidchart

3. Creately

4.SmartDraw

“Rather than being indecisive, make mistakes and learn from them.”

I suggest many of my friends use this method to solve problems and to make decisions in their lives and work. You can also choose your career and make a significant decision using this method. I hope it helps!!!

Thank You for Reading...

Disclaimer: The original Version of this story was published on another platfoorm. Link to Original Version: https://medium.com/@leeann.aurelie/how-i-accidentally-stumbled-into-decision-making-and-chose-a-career-out-of-it-843768b7b294

literatureworkflowsocial mediaquoteslistinterviewhumanityhow tohistoryheroes and villainsfeaturefact or fictioneconomycelebritiescareerbusiness warsbusinessbook reviewblingoartappareladvice

About the Creator

Leeann

✨Storyteller by heart ✨Wordsmith by trade ✨Ready to craft compelling content that captivates and inspires. 📚🖋️ Let's create something amazing together!"💻👩‍💻

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    LeeannWritten by Leeann

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.