Journal logo

How a Writer can Receive More Tips on Vocal

How I earned $175 in tips on Vocal within 5 weeks

By Robin Jessie-GreenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
12
How a Writer can Receive More Tips on Vocal
Photo by Sam Dan Truong on Unsplash

After a brief online conversation in the Vocal Media Creators Hub, a writers group on Facebook, I decided to share my thoughts on how to increase tips on Vocal.Media. As a fairly new Vocal writer, I have exceeded 1000 views and received $175 in tips in just over one month. Someone asked me how I did it? This is how I think it happened.

Vocal tips from Feb 2-March 7. Robin L. Jessie-Green

What I Write:

In life, I’ve had a lot of interesting experiences. I have felt compelled to share my testimony with the masses. Some of my stories are heartwrenching, some are inspiring, some are silly and others are informative. The common thread between them all is my desire to produce well-written pieces. Like many, writing is my passion. However, just because something is your passion doesn’t mean you’re perfect at it.

Spelling mistakes and grammatical errors can turn readers off, so I try to effectively edit my pieces. Writing everything in one pass, then returning at a later time with fresh eyes allows a writer to notice mistakes he or she may have previously overlooked. If you find a typo after publishing, you need only message Vocal to regain access to your piece so you can make corrections.

Asking for It:

No matter the type of content, my work has received tips. Although the stories about hardships have yielded the highest tips. The donations were from friends, family, and strangers alike. People have really been supportive and compassionate.

Initially, I did not ask readers for any contributions for the pieces I published. However, I began to include a small request at the end of each piece politely requesting a token of appreciation for the information and or entertainment I have provided readers. You’ll see that at the end of this gem.

My Style:

I try to create articles and short stories that captivate the reader. My primary goal is to help my audience imagine what I was feeling during the experience I have decided to share. I speak my truth even when I know my opinions may not be popular. I offer honest content, and I attempt to communicate in a voice to which anyone can relate. I encourage you to do the same.

Give Your Best:

Write things you will be proud of producing, whether you receive acknowledgment in the form of financial compensation or not. If you are pleased with your work, chances are someone else will be too and demonstrate their approval through means of monetary support. Worst case scenario, you don’t get a coin of appreciation but you still publish something meaningful. Take pride in knowing you’ve still added value to the vast virtual world of online content.

Make it Look Good:

According to some successful Vocal Authors, writers should incorporate the following flair into their stories.

  • GIFs
  • Multiple images
  • Bullet Points (it's a bullet point about bullet points!)
  • Section Headers
  • Blockquotes to emphasize key content

The aforementioned are all useful. Additionally, breaking up large blocks of text for easier reading and being succinct is also helpful. You can get your point across while adhering to the 600-word minimum Vocal limit. People may appreciate reading a 6-minute story over a 12 minute one.

That’s All Folks:

If you’ve written some good stuff, added flair, triple checked for typos, incorporated a polite request in your pieces, and still get no love-- beg a little. That’s right, use your social media accounts to flat out request that people check out your latest piece and contribute to the cause. If you’re not receiving tips anyway, what do you have to lose? You might just end up with sympathy tips, they all spend the same! Good luck and keep writing.

Oh and one more thing…

If you’d like to see more from me, kindly give a coin of encouragement.

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

how to
12

About the Creator

Robin Jessie-Green

Temple University BA and AIU Online MBA Alumna.

Content Contributor for Medium, eHow, Examiner, Experts123, AnswerBag, Medicine-guides.com and various other sites spanning a decade.

Visit my Writing Portfolio to see what else I've written.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.