Journal logo

Hey, I’ve done a funny!

Navigating change on social media

By Rachel RobbinsPublished about a year ago 3 min read
6
Me doing stand up in Leeds - Picture courtesy of Dan @dtm_images

Here’s a picture of me doing stand-up. It was from a gig I did last week. I was not particularly happy with my performance, but it doesn’t show in these photos. I also got one of my favourite pieces of feedback when a young woman said that she loved my bit on intersectional feminism.

Once I had the photos, I did my usual thing of sharing across social media sites. They appeared first on Facebook, then on Instagram and I sent a couple to a friend on WhatsApp.

I’m guessing most people know that feeling of posting something on a website and waiting for the response; the dopamine that we are supposed to garner from likes and hearts.

As above

I also have a Twitter account. It’s my biggest social media platform, but I’m struggling to know how to use it at the moment. I started on Twitter as a fairly anonymous academic. Over the years, I built up a following because of my research into domestic abuse. I also followed others in that field.

But now, I’m a stand-up, I’ve gone from the deadly serious to the ridiculously silly. So, I’m not sure what to post there anymore. It’s all quite incongruous. Most of my tweets these days fall into an ocean of obscurity. But I posted the pictures anyway and they’ve had a few likes.

As above

Then there is LinkedIn – which feels like the Parents Evening of social media – grown up, sensible, looking more like a formal dinner party than a rave. I sometimes do some free-lance teaching and sessions on using creativity in domestic abuse practice or other areas of social welfare and that is why I have an account. I haven’t really worked out what to post there. I haven’t posted the pictures, yet…

I also have a TikTok account. What’s that all about? Comedians often post short reels of their stand up. But I don’t have the editing skills for that. Plus I’m really bad at videoing myself. But, Rachel, you’re supposed to film yourself, so that you can appraise your performance. Take your art seriously. Joke-telling is a craft to be honed. Or maybe, don’t, because you’d spend too long obsessing about the way your hands move and cringing at your voice sounding like a 12 year old. If audiences laugh I’ve got the feedback I need.

As above

But it’s all very odd isn’t it – social media? It’s a weird mutation of human communication and connection that can leave us feeling lonelier whilst being bombarded by voices.

Sometimes Twitter feels like a graffiti-laden toilet wall, just insults shouted at people you’ve never met. It’s an angry place.

Instagram feels sweeter, but is basically a self-generated PR machine. (Although without it I wouldn’t know that my pictures have a particular appeal to US ex service man who like to slide into my DMs with messages that start with the creepy “Hello, Dear”. I still don’t know what to do what that insight).

Here with my fellow comics, Jack McLean, Oli Welham, Alex Mitchell and Amit Mistry

Sometimes I go through a brief social media detox, because I can feel the comparisons, insults, polarised points of view, the self-aggrandising turds clogging up my self-esteem. But I always go back. And one of the reasons is that I’m interested in how much people are willing to share of themselves, their opinions, their image, their private lives.

I have boundaries. I play around with them, especially in stand up, which can be quite a confessional art-form. But there are things I know I keep in a locked box of my private life, that isn’t for you.

And deep down, I know I’m not entitled to know about your life too.

One of my favourite pictures from a gig in Gotham, Nottinghamshire

Social media and academic research versus social media and comedy are not really that different. It is just a way of shouting “Hey, I’ve done a thing.” “Look at my thing that I’ve done.”

But being funny is so much harder than being serious.

Demanding attention because you have discovered something about the perpetration of fatal abuse seems worthwhile.

I done pulled a face and wrote a funny, fades in comparison.

Me performing in Denbigh

But here I am pulling a face and doing a funny. And it would be grand if you could follow me on Twitter (@DorisDayRobbins) or Instagram (rachel.robbins.comedy). You can watch me struggle to find my new voice on social media.

On stage I describe myself as a professional flirt, who used to be a professional feminist. So, can I just say you look lovely and I find it really sexy when you treat women with respect and grant them all of their reproductive rights.

social media
6

About the Creator

Rachel Robbins

Writer-Performer based in the North of England. A joyous, flawed mess.

Please read my stories and enjoy. And if you can, please leave a tip. Money raised will be used towards funding a one-woman story-telling, comedy show.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mohammed Darasi9 months ago

    "linkedin... feels like the Parents Evening of social media" 🤣🤣 that's so true. I have no idea how to use that thing honestly. I think I have an account but I don't think I've used it in years. Great article, and I sympathise with you about social media.. I use it to watch funny videos honestly, so I'm starting to discover more on how to use it properly now (though I hate twitter and will probably never use it properly). I love standup comedy, so I hope you keep going up. All the best 🙂

  • Relatable insights into the social media platforms- Detox relatable Great Article ❤️😊👌📝💯👍

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Great work

  • J. Delaney-Howe9 months ago

    Great piece. Good to see how others use social media. I am horrible at it. Nice work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.