Journal logo

Good Morning From Seven Days In

A Month Later I Joined Vocal

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
10
An AI Nightcafe Creation By The Author

Introduction

The visits to Seven Days In are still very high and this wandered into the top ten, and it is pertinent because it was one from the month before I joined Vocal and virtually stopped writing on Seven Days In, although I just use it mainly for observations on what I am reading at the moment with posts such as this one.

There are quite a few that are resurfacing, and I am surprised that they are quite interesting and worthy of a share on Vocal.

I know so people will accuse me of being lazy (not least of all me) but I think Vocal is a great place to share my scribblings, and I do have to extend some of them to make them worth reading and be accepted by Vocal (though some people publish in Poets or Fiction as there is no real minimum as they encourage haiku, senryū, and microfiction.

Again this is a diaristic post and an excuse to share and promote some of my favorite music and have a go at alarm clocks, although I am waiting for the perfect one.

My latest is quite good, and a little weird. The alarm itself is birdsong and it sort of gently wakes you up rather than being a bang-you-over-the-head alarm. The birdsong almost becomes part of your dream (assuming you are having a dream) and half an hour before the alarm it does a gentle sunrise light up.

It is quite a pleasant way to wake, even at 5:45 Am

So here is where I was in March 2021, pre-Vocal.

Good Morning

The other day was one of those hideous mornings when I got woken up by my alarm clock. I know that is the point of the alarm clock, but I have never figured out how to snooze it, so when the alarm goes off I know I have to get up. Although I have also observed that the alarm actually stops after a while and then restarts after five minutes. I like waking up and knowing I hamaybe forty minutes before the alarm allowing me a gradual waking, but the other morning it wasn't to be.

The good thing about being woken by my alarm is that I must have had a good night's sleep, undisturbed by anything and though I had to drag myself up , I knew that I had benefitted from the rest. I would hate to be awake throughout the night and when the alarm went off having to drag a tired ad reluctant body towards the shower despite the physical protests and desire to just stay in bed.

Todays'smusic has been mostly Jefferson Airplane's first five albums, Edward II's "Dancing Tunes" and some Continental Quilts. Follow the links to the artist's Bandcamp areas.

All worthy listens, and was particularly impressed with "Surrealistic Pillow" which contains "White Rabbit", "You're My Best Friend", "Somebody To Love" and I will share the wonderful acoustic "Embryonic Journey", which I loved when I first heard it many moons ago.

Conclusion

This is just one of many snippets before I was tempted to The Dark Side by Vocal by the vast amounts to be made from their challenges. Vocal has made it clear that I am not fit to win or even place in a challenge, but the reads and bonuses from Top Stories have made me a big success on the platform so I will stay and one day may not be able to complain about not placing in a challenge.

I did write a piece about addiction to winning, but really I am so thankful to Vocal for introducing me to some incredible friends around the world (you know who you are), for providing me with coffee money every month, and for giving me the opportunity to publish hard copy books.

social mediaproduct reviewpop culturelisthumanityheroes and villainsfeaturefact or fiction
10

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock10 months ago

    More good music & interesting ruminations.

  • Lol, I can never wake up to birdsong! I need some kinda annoying music to wake me up! Hahaha

  • Sheila L. Chingwa10 months ago

    Well done! Crazy how two years has changed the platform. I have loved your stories.

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    Still think the subtitle to your first book is simply brilliant!

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    Thank you for sharing with us.

  • Lana V Lynx10 months ago

    It’s so cool to see where you started!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.