Journal logo

Finally, I Can Call Myself a Writer

After writing ten stories...

By Zohaib Ali 🌱 Published about a year ago • 4 min read
Like
Finally, I Can Call Myself a Writer
Photo by Julia Joppien on Unsplash

For years I didn’t consider myself a writer. I considered myself a wanna-be writer. Someone who wanted to be a writer but wasn’t quite there yet. I had all the excuses. I don’t have time. I’m not good enough. What would I even write about? But then one day, something clicked. I realized that all the things that were holding me back from being a writer were actually just excuses. And if I really wanted to be a writer, I could make it happen. So that’s what I did. In this blog post, I’m going to share with you how I finally became a writer – and how you can too.

Why I Decided to Become a Writer

There are many reasons why someone might decide to become a writer. For me, it was a combination of things. I had always loved writing and telling stories, but it wasn't until later in life that I realized I could turn my passion into a career.

After years of working in jobs that didn't fulfill me, I decided it was time to make a change. I wanted to do something that I loved and that would make me happy. Writing seemed like the perfect fit. It was something I was good at and enjoyed doing, so I decided to give it a shot.

I'm so glad I made the decision to become a writer. It's been one of the best decisions of my life. Not only do I get to do something I love every day, but I also get to help others through my writing. Whether it's providing entertainment, offering advice, or simply helping someone feel less alone, writing has allowed me to make a difference in the world. And that's why I'll keep doing it for as long as there's a story inside of me dying to be told.

How I overcame self-doubt and impostor syndrome

I've always been a bit of a perfectionist. I'm the type of person who agonizes over every little detail and strives for excellence in everything I do. So, when I decided to pursue writing as a career, I was naturally riddled with self-doubt and impostor syndrome.

I wasn't sure if I was good enough to be a writer. I wasn't sure if my ideas were good enough. And I certainly wasn't sure if I could make a living at it.

Fortunately, I was able to overcome my self-doubt and impostor syndrome by taking things one step at a time. Instead of obsessing over whether or not my work was good enough, I just focused on finishing it and putting it out there. And instead of worrying about whether or not I could make a living off of writing, I just focused on enjoying the process and the craft.

Today, I am happy to say that I am a writer and that I am making a living off of my writing! It hasn't been easy, but it has been so worth it. If you're struggling with self-doubt or impostor syndrome, just remember to take things one step at a time and enjoy the journey!

What my writing process looks like

There's no one way to be a writer, and there's no one way to write. Some writers plan and outline every step of their writing process before they even start typing, while others let the story flow out of them as they go. I fall somewhere in the middle.

Before I start writing anything, I take some time to think about what I want to say and what my goal for the piece is. Once I have a general idea, I start brainstorming ideas and organizing them into an outline. This helps me keep my thoughts focused as I'm writing and makes it easier to go back and make changes later on.

Once I have my outline, it's time to start writing. For me, this is usually the hardest part. But once I get started, the words tend to flow out of me pretty easily. I just have to push through that initial blank page fear.

After the first draft is done, it's time for editing. This is where I really fine tune my ideas and make sure everything flows together nicely. I also add in any final touches or flourishes that will make the piece more enjoyable or impactful for readers.

Finally, after all that planning and writing and editing, my piece is ready to be shared with the world. And then the real fun begins – seeing how people react to it and engage with it!

What I've learned from being a writer

Assuming you want a detailed content section for the subheading "What I've learned from being a writer":

I've learned that being a writer is more than just putting words on a page. It's about finding your voice and using it to tell stories that resonate with people. It's about connecting with readers and giving them something to think about long after they've finished reading your work.

It's also about discipline and perseverance. Writing is not always easy, but it is worth it when you see your words come to life on the page (or screen). I've learned that even on days when I don't feel like writing, I can still push through and get something down. And usually, once I get started, the muse shows up and I can really get into the flow of things.

So what have I learned from being a writer? That it's an amazing, challenging, and rewarding process that is always worth pursuing.

career
Like

About the Creator

Zohaib Ali 🌱

I'm Zohvib (pronounced as Zohaib), Through Vocal and other digital publications, I tell stories that help readers to close the gap between where they are and where they want to be. 🗿

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.