Journal logo

Farm Help

Farm

By Kelly VedderPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Farm Help

I love my job because it helps my personal life. I work for a farm stand. I

also live on a farm. Helping people as they help me. I love the products we

sell. Straight from the farm, and a place to sell my eggs. It shows how

much farms mean to our lives. Without farms, our food and animals are gone.

My job has a tip jar. At the end of my shift, I bring cash home every day.

I'm learning how to cook with products produced by our farm. If I grow the

right products, I won't have to shop so much, and save money and time. The

registry can be hard but practice makes perfect. My boss is nice and

helpful. She is having a baby soon, too. The job is seasonal. It is open

from May through November. They have fruit, vegetables, meat from animals,

like streak and pork. They also make sub sandwiches. We get our eggs from a

local farm. We get our milk from a company, because we can't sell raw milk.

The farm that we run has several cows. It's right next to the stand. They

have flowers and a pumpkin patch. If you work there, and you buy something,

you can pay immediately, or you can opt to run a tab.

Due to the Coronavirus Pandemic (Covid-19), which began late in December of

2019, and continues to be a serious Medical Health threat to this date, the

Stand hasn’t enforced a mask policy, nor have they issued a mask mandate at

this point. I worry a little bit about the health of the customers and

other staff members, if some customers, and staff, come into the store

without a face mask on. I wear my face mask, even if my coworkers don’t.

Like any place, there are pros and cons. The other day, I was on my feet,

cutting vegetables. There was no mat under my feet. My leg hurts. The store

has gotten some great reviews. This owner's family is, in some way, related

to my husband's distant relatives.

I love the job, even though I would rather go back to writing and taking

pictures full time. I do direct sales, too. I love my farm job at home, but

it does not generate any income. I have two months to go.

I make arts and crafts, draw, write, take pictures, arrange flowers. grow

plants and have craft shows where I sell my creations online. I love those

jobs because it's a gift somebody may need.

I love to share my gifts. I would rather be home. Then I have no income.

The thought that,

“I have to go to work tomorrow,” makes me feel sick. If I do go in, I feel

okay as soon as I arrive. Morning shifts are better. The hours seem

shorter. The afternoon shift runs from noon to 6:00 PM. The longer the

shift, the more tips you get. It's so bad that nobody wants to work. Some

companies are hurting because there are no drivers or workers.

Farms help create a healthy way of life. Arts and crafts help too. Some

people say there is no money in farming. You need to sell your goods.

If you sell eggs, vegetables, fruit, maybe milk, meat and more you could

make money. Easier said than done. I need to set up a stand outside my

home. We have light traffic on a dead-end road but I could put up a sign by

the road. Because of the pandemic, many people set up an area in their

backyard with chickens. Selling eggs can be difficult. From the farm to the

market is an option. I want to be able to have a variety of different and

unique products and something out of the ordinary. It's been a dream.

I'm a people person, and passionate about animals. I fell more, and more,

in love with farming. I don't like going out and working on somebody else's

farm when I could and should be working on mine. We bought a new property

for haying purposes. As my husband makes hay, I can set up a stand and sell

products while he is on the tractor. I love my job because farming is

helping others.

Please support your local Farms.

By Kelly Vedder

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.