Journal logo

Everyone Deserves Something Beautiful

By: Amber Tice

By Amber TicePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Follow me on my journey to becoming a successful real estate broker.

Our minds have a funny way of convincing us that we are less than. Mine is particularly good at whispering “You aren’t good enough,” on a daily basis. My journey to a successful career has been blocked by negative thoughts, actions, and feelings. I always wanted to be something great, something more than I was, something better. Alas, that little voice inside my head has never let up, telling me “no way.” I find it interesting, though, that I’ve always tried to pull myself away from that voice. I’ve taken many roads on my career path, all of which have ultimately failed. I have fallen several times only to stand up, brush myself off and open yet another door, always wondering “Is this the one?” It never was.

At 36, I decided to yet again, try something new. This thing, this tiny inkling, had been festering in my brain for 15 years. Can you imagine thinking about a path for 15 years and never taking it? This is my story.

One of the scariest career paths to take, real estate, has all of a sudden ignited a fire inside me that I have never felt. As risky as it is, I’ve never felt so secure about a decision in my entire life. Also, have I never put so much effort into an employment opportunity. I think about my work constantly, imagining my future success, and never allowing myself to get discouraged.

My partner and I recently purchased our first home. It was at that moment I knew what I was supposed to be doing and why. Our home buying experience was nothing short of stressful, but I had so much fun learning the in’s and outs of the market, looking at houses with our incredible realtor, and researching all of our options that I just had to jump in. I started asking questions, researching companies online, and attending meetings. Before I knew it, I was enrolled in classes, taking the tests (which I failed three times), and signing paperwork with THE best brokerage in our area hands down.

Before I jump in further, let me explain that none of this was easy. I was terrified walking into that building as a rookie. I had no idea what to expect, or if this new culture would even accept me. Money was put on the table that wasn’t there (and still is), and I almost lost my car to repossession due to little income. The overwhelming feeling of being broke lead me to tears more than once. But, this isn’t a story of being broke, or of staying broke! No way! his is a story of how I’m turning my financial future around. And, not only that, how I’m enjoying my new career in the process.

I work for a local brokerage in Spokane, WA called Haven Real Estate Group. The culture here is inspiring. Free training and education, weekly individualized attention, and customer focus are just a few of the things that Haven has brought to the table. I love going to work. I love talking to the big boss, and I love being around my coworkers. How many people get to say that about where they work? Not many.

Although my career hasn’t taken off yet, I have faith my time is just around the corner. And when it happens it won’t be because someone else handed me a golden ticket. It will be because I continued to see past the bullshit, the negative thoughts, and the critical clutter that engulfs my mind daily.

I would love for you to follow me on this journey. My dream is to one day lead my own team, invest in properties in Spokane, and give back to my community. With a simple shift in thinking my life has already taken a huge turn. I hope this article finds you also in good spirits, ready and willing to take on what life throws at you. If not, please continue to read my stories. I vow that they will always shed a positive light on what others might find as dim. Spreading positive thinking is infectious and I encourage everyone to take a step in a positive direction because we all deserve something beautiful.

Happy reading!

career

About the Creator

Amber Tice

I am a real estate broker in beautiful Spokane Washington. The information I post is based on the real estate market in Spokane and the surrounding area. I love the outdoors and the inland Northwest. There is no where else I’d rather be.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Amber TiceWritten by Amber Tice

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.