Journal logo

Don't Take Your Time For Granted

Some Things On My Mind From The Past Week

By Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.Published 18 days ago 4 min read
6

It has been an eventful few days.

Some things have been good, others not.

However, all of these events made me think about Our Time.

Lately, much of my work has been Focused on Regenerative Legacy Design.

I am also a firm Believer in being an Exemplar of your Beliefs.

So, in light of a different article I wrote recently, I've decided to take the role of Chief Regenerative Design Officer in my Business.

To that end, I have begun to expand the Impact that is being made through my work.

In particular, a portion of all profits are being directly used toward Improving the Planet.

In the first month of these efforts, The Leadership Guide has funded:

  • Nearly 100 lbs of Plastic Collection from our Oceans (Equivalent of 2,100 Plastic Bottles)
  • Planting 27 Mangroves and cleaning 108 square meters of forest, offsetting Nearly 21,000 Miles of Carbon Emissions from Vehicles
  • Restoring 11 Microhabitats which will help the Critically Endangered Pseudophilatus Amboli Frog and Buceros Bicornis Bird.

That is just in the first month!

These efforts are only going to dramatically Improve as we continue these efforts.

The next thing that occurred was that I was accepted as a Candidate for Mr. Health & Fitness 2024.

Voting begins May 6th, and if I were to win, there is a $20,000 prize that I plan to use 100% of towards more Regenerative Efforts.

I want to prove that when we all work together, we can accomplish Significant Good in the World.

As I thought about Impacting the world further through these efforts, I was reminded of another one of my Goals.

My Best Friend Scott finished his Battle against Brain Cancer a few years ago, and I committed to honoring him in something that I have called Journey to the Seven.

In this commitment, I plan on doing Spartan's Project 7 which includes some of the most Extreme Endurance Events in the world.

Unfortunately, soon after I made my initial announcement I injured myself, and recovery took longer than I wanted.

I have been getting to a point where I plan to talk about my efforts again with that Journey.

If I am to be honest though, there is a part of me that is scared, and it has been long enough that most people probably have forgotten.

But I can't allow that Fear to Control me.

This Fear is further interesting because, in my other efforts to Develop myself, I recently joined a program that talks about Mental Saboteurs.

After completing an assessment, I discovered that my main Saboteur is the Avoider.

That Fear that I have is just the voice of the Avoider.

Now, all Mental Saboteurs do play a role in our Lives, and "can" have Benefits for us.

The Avoider is simply trying to warn me of my past Injury and is attempting to play a Protective Role in helping me avoid Future Injury.

Though it is well-intentioned, I also must tell it there are ways to Avoid Injury without Avoiding this Commitment.

Indeed, I must be smarter about my Training so that I "can" Accomplish this Goal.

As I thought about these Ideas of Designing a Regenerative Legacy, Honoring my Brother, My Training, Improving our Psychophysiology as Leaders, and this Effort to become Mr. Health and Fitness 2024, I had a brand new Idea!

I am working on another Effort to further all of these Goals, and I am announcing it here because my Avoider Saboteur cannot stop me from that either.

Which brings me to the last thing that has happened this week.

Today, there was a Death in the Family.

It is not something I am going to go into Depth with, but this is what I will say.

Time is Not Granted to any of us.

Sometimes it occurs, completely unexpectedly

We have the Potential to Accomplish so much, and it can be done significantly faster than most people believe.

However, we often say we will get to it "eventually".

After "this", or after "that".

We just need to do "something else" first.

But at the end of the day, we are just Avoiding it.

How long can you Avoid something though?

Will you Avoid it until the day you Die?

I don't plan to do that.

There is too much that needs to be done in the World to wait.

Each second Alive is a Gift, a Treasure.

One where we are never certain when it will be the last we will receive.

I plan to use that Gift and Treasure to the Fullest.

I Hope that you will join me in Changing the World.

workflowwall streetVocalvintagequotesproduct reviewpop culturelistindustryhumanityhow tohistoryheroes and villainsfeatureeconomycareerbusiness warsbusinessadvice
6

About the Creator

Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.

Creator of the Multi-Award-Winning Category "Legendary Leadership" | Faith, Family, Freedom, Future | The Legendary Leadership Coach, Digital Writer (450+ Articles), & Speaker

https://www.TheLeadership.Guide

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Ameer Bibi17 days ago

    Amazing 🤩🤩 welldone superb story I really admire your writing skills

  • Lana V Lynx18 days ago

    You are a good man, Cody. Keep us informed about voting on May 6 - I’d definitely give you my vote.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.