Journal logo

What It Means To Be Legendary

I Love You And Miss You Brother

By Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.Published 11 months ago 4 min read
1

"There is nothing I cannot do in the One who strengthens me."

- Philippians 4:13 NJB

I think about this Bible verse often - it is one of my Brother's favorites.

Scott and I grew up together, our mothers went to high school together.

He was a huge part of my life.

Three years ago today, I got the news.

He had passed away, early in the morning.

Brain Cancer.

27 Years Old.

The day before I was blessed to have been able to drive out from Texas to Colorado with my mother and my fiancee (now spouse) to spend some time with him.

I had made it, just in time, to be a part of his last full day here.

Even though he struggled to speak, move, and look at me, he still had so much joy and Love inside!

With the energy he had, we remembered the past, he told jokes, and we laughed together.

To be going through the pain he was in, the challenges that no one should ever have to go through?

Yet continue to express that level of happiness, gratitude, pure Love, and courage?

It takes a lot of strength to be able to do that!

Yet, the more I think about Philippians 4:13, and the more I think about my brother, I've come to a realization.

Scott's time of greatest strength was not that last day, nor was it when he first found out about his cancer, nor was it any day before that.

To me, his time of greatest strength is today, and tomorrow, and every day going forward.

In the One that strengthens him, Scott continues to still have strength, even in death.

Not even Sister Death has the power to reduce Scott's strength of Love, happiness, courage and gratitude!

To continue to have a positive impact in the lives of so many people.

To have Loved so strongly that it is still felt years later.

To have continued to demonstrate that Love even in the darkest of days, up until the very last moments -

THAT is strength!

This is also what it means to be Legendary.

The positive impact you have will outlive you, and will continue to impact other's that you have never met.

You, reading this, may not ever get the opportunity to meet Scott as I have, but you will feel his Love regardless.

Scott's Love continues to live in me, and I continue to pass it to you, as he would have.

Or perhaps it would be better to say as he continues to do.

Those who are Legendary in our lives never truly die, they continue to exist as a part of us, they continue to do good in the world.

They continue to give their light to those who are still here, even if they never directly met.

Scott is a huge part of my life.

I honestly don't know if I would be here if he had not been a part of my life.

When I was at my weakest points, he was there helping me stand back up.

When I was in pain, he shared it with me.

When I was most afraid, he showed me courage.

I hope that I can be as Legendary in the lives of others as he has continued to be in my life.

I believe that we should all strive to do so.

I talk about Heroic Potential in my work.

To be a Hero is to have strength for two or more people - Scott is a Hero who continues to have strength.

To live into your Potential is to rise to our God-given strengths - Scott lived into his Potential, even in such a short period of time.

I talk about being an Exemplar in my work.

It is not enough to "talk" about the things we believe, we must demonstrate our beliefs in the world.

Scott was an Exemplar of Love, courage, strength and gratitude as far back as I can remember.

This is why Scott is Legendary - he LIVED to the fullest, he LOVED to the fullest, and showed STRENGTH to the fullest.

Scott always has been, and will always continue to be a Legendary Leader in my life.

I love you Brother, Fëamandur, Scott.

Thank you for continuing to show me Strength and Love.

workflowreligionquoteshumanityhow tohistoryheroes and villainscareeradvice
1

About the Creator

Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.

Creator of the Multi-Award-Winning Category "Legendary Leadership" | Faith, Family, Freedom, Future | The Legendary Leadership Coach, Digital Writer (450+ Articles), & Speaker

https://www.TheLeadership.Guide

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.