Journal logo

Discovering My Love for Writing

Where It All Started...

By Chasity WilliamsPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
"Write what you love..."

You're probably wondering what this article means to you. This article is the start of something new for me and it wouldn't be right to start it off this way. If you're reading this, you're probably still thinking about... what's something you love to do, something you're passionate about. The thought process of something like this is often slow and it takes a while to grab a whole of it. We're always told "do what you love..." but, what about the people that do negative things on the daily and think that's something their passionate about? Would you still say that to them? "Do what you love..." Doing something we're passionate about is the very start of everything and how everything plays out in our lives.

The reason behind this article is because I discovered my love for writing at a very young age, which was eight-years-old. I am currently eighteen-years-old and opening myself up to you about finding the one thing that you're passionate about. I talk from experience in this article. Most people talk from things they may know of or they just choose to speak on things such as this.

At the age of eight-years-old, I was in second grade doing everything I needed to do as far as keeping my grades on top. All the kids in my class were... nice, I guess you can say. The teacher was always hollering at certain students over and over. I was always by myself and maybe sometimes, classmates will come up to me and say hi or whatever. I was the shy type, obviously.

The subjects we had back in secnd grade were pretty simple such as Math, Reading, Handwriting, and etc. I fell in love with Reading, the very first time I heard my teacher read us a book in the back of the class. Maybe it was the way she read it? Maybe it was the way she added emotion to it? I don't really remember. I remember sitting on that big blue beanbag listening to the story and understanding everything that was going on in the story as she read it out loud. It was as though my ears were much bigger and my mind had more space to register everything she said. Every single word. How is that possible for a seconnd grader?

After that day, I knew what was my favorite subject. That was always someone's favorite question to ask me coming up as a young girl and guess what? I always stuck with reading! As time went on, I came across writing itself in the third grade. Having to read a little paragraph and answer questions about it or having to write about something that's happened to you over a particular holiday break. I was always excited for reading and writing. Now, math had its way of pushing me towards it. You know those problems you have to read and then solve? Yes, those. I always enjoyed reading those but, never wrote a single answer down. I mean, do you blame me? I hated math. So much!

Years went on, and my passion for writing got much stronger. The smile, the thoughts that would race to my mind first to create such a hesitation about what I was going to write next. All I needed was paper and a pencil or pen. Mrs. Armstrong is going to always be in my heart when it comes to this reading and writing. She first saw it in me. I always read in class and she reported back to my mom that I added so much emotion to the story to make it come alive. I didn't know I was doing that at all, but I guess that's what happened in the mist of me enjoying the reading. I enjoyed projects that involved writing and reading them out loud. I have a huge vocabulary that stretches all the way back then up to now.

Once I got into middle school, that's when things turned a little for me. Going to school with such cruel people, it turned me away from writing. I didn't want to be involved with anything but just cry all day and all night. I use to go and sit in my English teacher class and read the dictionary while eating my lunch. I know, that's something you don't see all the time. I really enjoyed looking at brand new words and hopefully adding them into my story but things just got too complicated for me. The fire was still there for the writing but it was covered up in so much pain which I endured in middle school going to high school.

My mom explained to me that writing was my precious gift that i had discovered at a very young age and that's something I have to hold onto. No matter what. There's people that are way older than me that haven't found that gift of theirs, yet. I went back to writing towards the end of my middle school year. I would write for hours in my room instead of going out to play or be with family. I would always ignore the teacher to write a story, poem, short story, and etc. I couldn't control the thoughts that would race to me. The second I say writing, the thoughts just come racing. It's kind of amazing.

If there's something you love to do... you know what. Sorry to say, that in such a way that's confusing. If there's something positive that brings joy to you and you always enjoy it, every single time. Grab it, and keep it. I now call them "Million Dollar Gifts." All of us have a gift in which can bring us peace, joy, prosperity, and even help the world. Never shy away from something you love to do.

art
Like

About the Creator

Chasity Williams

Discovered my love for writing at the age of 8. I am18 now. ♥

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.