Journal logo

Dear Writer: You Must Read Stephen King’s Memoir

What lessons I learned from reading “On Writing”.

By Ionutz KazakuPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - August 2022
26
On Writing - Book Cover.

What does it take to be a good writer?

Stephen King is the master when it comes to writing. His book, On Writing, is the funniest and the most well-written book I’ve ever read. It is a biography/guide on how to become a better writer. Stephen breaks down tools, examples and secrets which will improve your writing.

I want to write like him one day.

After reading his book, I can say with confidence that my writing will improve from now on.

Here are the 5 lessons I found the most essential —

#1: Good Readers Make Good Writers

If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot.

It makes sense, doesn’t it?

Where if not from books we, writers, will learn the most.

When you are reading books, you are secretly learning. We get inspired and see lots of patterns that later on, subconsciously, we will use in our own writing. Additionally, you improve your vocabulary and develop your own style.

When it comes to the “I don’t have time to read” argument:

Can I be blunt on this subject? If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.

#2: Don’t Worry About Grammar Or Vocabulary

Remember that the basic rule of vocabulary is: to use the first word that comes to your mind if it is appropriate and colourful.

Keep it simple.

Don’t confuse yourself and others.

One mistake I did at the start of my writing journey was the overuse of “smart” words. I believed that using a broad vocabulary with difficult grammar would make my articles “more professional”, which is bullshit.

The most important part of writing, especially on Medium, is delivering a clear and simple message to the reader.

Everyone should understand what you mean.

#3: Create a Good Writing Environment

Eliminate every possible distraction.

If I knew this from the start…

You should get inspired by your environment.

The creation should be born in a place where you feel comfortable.

  • Work in a clean space.
  • Organize your desk, and decorate everything as you want.
  • Write in total silence, you should be fully concentrated.
  • Avoid distractions, and leave your phone in the other room.

By applying all these tips you will be present, in the flow.

#4: Don’t Be Afraid, Be Yourself

I’m convinced that fear is at the root of most bad writing.

Develop your own style.

When readers come to your articles, they should feel like coming to your home, not an IKEA store where everything is generic. Write as you would write for yourself. It is the best way to make your reader understand what you mean.

This will differentiate you from other writers, making you “special”.

This will create a relationship between you and your readers, you are being yourself.

Your audience will trust you and the bond will become stronger.

#5: Consistency, Keep Writing

Work as hard as you possibly can on at least one thing and see what happens.

This rule should be applied to everything.

The only way of becoming a better writer is by writing. You should always work on the art. Writing 1 or 2 articles a week won’t cut it. Only through lots of practice, you will start to get the hang of it. By creating a portfolio of your articles you will be able to look back and improve.

It took me 30 articles to reach 1000 views.

With time and consistency, everything will come. Be patient.

It is one of the funniest and well-written books I’ve ever read, you will love it!

Subscribe to my monthly newsletter! This month, I will record a video sharing my opinion on the books I’ve read and my reading list for the next month.

Thanks for reading :)

P.S Do you think I should write more about “Writing”?

advicebook reviewcareerfact or fictionlistliteraturequoteshow to
26

About the Creator

Ionutz Kazaku

Writing articles, reading books, listening to podcasts — constantly learning.

All my socials: bio.link/ionutzkazaku

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Angelina F. Thomas2 years ago

    Keep up the excellent work. Thank you.

  • Arleen McCann2 years ago

    I agree. It is required reading for a creative writing course I took. Loved it!

  • Joe Young2 years ago

    I will definitely hunt down this book. I'm a huge fan of Stephen King, I love writing and the added bonus of humour has me sold. THanks.

  • Jassy La’Nae2 years ago

    As a writer myself who always overthinks & tries to make everything perfect, I am glad one of my favorite writers have given these useful tips for us to use.

  • I appreciate the time it took to present us with a short list. That makes it a perfect way to "get into" the rest! Now I really, really want to read this book! Thanks. I'm now a subscriber.

  • Ro2 years ago

    Oh man, I love this book. I haven’t read any of his other works (not much of a horror person) but this book is solid

  • Chezney Martin2 years ago

    Excuse my ignorance but I didn't realize this book existed; from Stephen King no less! This article is the reason I'm going to get a copy, thank you 😊

  • Barry Penfold2 years ago

    Thanks for the tip on this book. I have already been introduced to some of Stephen Kings tips but I think the purchase of the entire works is now necessary. Well time to get reading and yes please keep writing.

  • CDM2 years ago

    There's probably not a book I've read more often than ON WRITING, as I've had the Audible version on every device I've owned since the day the book dropped and have listened to it, conservatively, fifty times over two decades. But I think I return to it so often less for the writing advice and more for the memoir, as times have changed drastically since 2000 and so much of King's advice hasn't aged very well. I would disagree with your header for point #2, as King in no way suggests you shouldn't worry about *grammar*; quite the opposite, he clearly states that a firm and correct grasp of grammar should be "on the top shelf of your toolbox". He just doesn't turn ON WRITING into a grammar textbook because if you don't come to the writing desk fully-loaded with an understanding of proper grammar, you can't hope to write a coherent story. Truly the most liberating idea in the book is his concept of unearthing stories as found relics, freeing us from the never-ending plot outlines and reams of story development notes. I did that exact thing -- just put my characters in a situation and let them run with it -- for my New Worlds Challenge chapter, such fun to just dive in and write, see what the characters end up telling you about the story.

  • I have a slightly different take. https://vocal.media/fiction/challenging-the-king-on-writing

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.