Journal logo

Community First

Step Three of Gary Ragnarsson's Frosted Primrose Challenge.

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
6
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

This is step three of Gary Ragnarsson's Frosted Primrose Challenge. In this part, I feature ten stories from Vocal creators that I have left a thoughtful comment on.

The music is "Community Of Hope" by Polly Jean Harvey.

Read all about it here:

So here are my choices and why. Although I have taken my comments so you don't have to root them out, please read at least a few of them, I think you will enjoy them as much as I have.

An excellent story from John Cox in the Criminal Community (the story, not John). This was what I said:

Very intense, taking you to the heart of the place, excellent work

A beautiful free verse love poem from Lindsay Sfara. It will not take you long to read and enjoy. This is what I said.

Love your words and the amazing image

I love Talia Devora's multi-language and script poetry. Being a typical ignorant Englishman I don't know many languages, just a smattering of French, German, Dutch, Finnish and Spanish but Talia's work is a delight and this is a wonderful nature poem.

This was my comment.

Great way to express this story

A very important piece from Skulls And Cauldrons which many of us may be affected by. I made two comments on this.

Me: "Some excellent observations and points, many have been on the wrong side of a narcissist and it is not pleasant"

Skulls And Cauldrons: "Not pleasant at all ... especially when you drop them and they start a smear campaign against you."

Me: "That has happened to me and my friends"

A poem and prayer from Judey Kalchik about deadlines and creating. My response:

That was fun, I tend to enter at the start, although these are just prompts for me as I have had my Challenge placement and last Top Story so may be off to pastures new though will still drop stories on Vocal. I don't like close deadlines, just polished off something from work that has to be done for Friday. Love your poem and this probably is a Top Story

A wonderful observational piece from Caroline Jane, my comment was quite short, but this really is a worthwhile read. What I said:

Excellent story and great take on the challenge

A wonderful challenge set up by Sleepy Drafts. I said a few words and created an entry.

This reminds me of Bowie and Dylan's cut-and-paste methods that I apply especially in my plagiaristic poetry. This is not an entry but an example but will try and create something

Sleepy Drafts reply:

Ouuu, I love this!! I love the idea of your take on a "plagiaristic poem!" I've always loved collaging and using inspiration from music, so this is right up my alley, lol. Thank you for sharing this!! I would *love* to read your take on this eavesdropping prompt! 💗

This was my answer to the challenge:

A Covid-inspired Abecedarian from Daphsam and this is what I had to say complete with spelling mistake/grammatical error

I had it twice , great take one this

A wonderful prose poem from Heather Hubler with an amazing fox image. My response (again I was quite laconic, but I love this story. For some reason it is not a Top Story....yet):

Great take on the challenge , wonderful story, and probably a Top Story

To close this list a wonderful poem from Cathy Holmes for a challenge by Real Poetic. This was my comment.

A glimpse of a possible dystopia

Conclusion

Thank you for reading and I hope that you check out a few of these and join in with Gary's challenge.

literaturequoteslisthumorhumanityheroes and villainsfeaturefact or fictionCONTENT WARNINGcelebritiesadvice
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    I've already read most if these 10 but would need to circle back to this to read the one's that I havent!

  • Another great list, Mike, a few more I had not previously read. That Chicago Love Story was amazing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.