Journal logo

Closest Friends/Family Unsupportive?

Or have you not made it clear how they can support you?

By Rose ShortPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Bones Coffee always helps me think clearly hehehe

B​ an entrepreneur I have been hanging out with and following more entrepreneurs on social media. I have noticed a interesting trend though; complaints of lack of support from family and friends or poor me I have no followers videos.

Isaw this too when I wrote one of our real estate related campaigns. We are often told, and statistics back this up, that your best referrals and sales can come from your sphere of influence. In fact, courses that teach you this. But what do you do when your sphere is not supportive?

I​t's an odd thing to think about your closest friends and family not supporting you, because support comes in many forms. For me, most of my friends and family do not live where I do, but ways they can still support me; reading my blog, sharing my posts (shares and comments help the algorithms more than likes), like/comment/follow me on social media and , and of course, refer their friends who may be moving to Phoenix to me. One of the great about being in real estate is our network, so even if they to buy a home here, I can refer them to a real estate agent where they are looking and make a referral fee.

W​e have become a society that lives and breathes social media, yet most of us scroll through, like posts here and there and call it good. Creators of course will jump on trends to try to gain followers and popularity, but sometimes that is not the answer. I see it a lot on TikTok, when a professional will use a sound that is trending, and they are funny, but they also tend to poke fun at clients or customers. While it's understandable to want to vent in a funny and trendy way, it also could potentially drive away new business.

Isee this a lot too with posts complaining about no one sharing their content. This always makes me wonder though; is your sphere intentionally not sharing your posts, or are you not making your posts share worthy? One of the I was on was the "call to action" in posts, written or verbal. Not everyone uses social media in the way we do, so if you have not asked your sphere to share your work, can you be that they don't? Stop the pity posts and take action!

I'm pretty certain none of my family is subscribed to my channel, but I don't think I have asked them to subscribe either. Until I did not realize shares are better for the algorithm than likes, so why would my non-business users know either? We as humans have a bad habit of expecting everyone to know the same we know about our business, but also want to be compensated for the time and energy it took to gain that knowledge. You can't eat your cake and have it too (yes, that is the proper way to say that phrase).

I​t goes back to our VP's favorite phrase: effort is your responsibility. Stop complaining about people not sharing your posts, actively ask them to share your posts and make them share worthy. Educate your sphere on how shares and comments help more than likes. Instead of getting mad when they ask for a discount, educate them on why that is not to ask. Ask them for input to get them involved and therefore invested. Practice what you preach: share your entrepreneur friends' posts and events.

career
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.