Journal logo

Can You See The Real Me?

Mikeydred Sings For You

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
The Book Of Love

This is for The Remarkably Real Vocal Challenge, the challenges were one of the reasons I joined Vocal but since then I have discovered something far more precious, my Facebook Vocal Friends and Family who provide me with love and support and encouragement and without whom I would not be here writing this.

I wrote a story called Immortals that you can read here, basically positing that in this digital world as long as there is power and the technology keeps working , we can be there forever.

Fifteen years ago I started a blog called Seven Days In , that I thought would be a travel blog , but then it veered away from that and became more like a diary about things that caught my attention, with a lean towards music. In 2019 I posted more than one piece a day (368 posts) and this year I made a decision to scale back my writing , but then I joined Vocal. This year I have posted 104 blog posts and 285 stories on Vocal, so that is a total of 389 before I post this.

Because Vocal’s search facility is imperfect I created a directory of my work so I can easily find stories when I need to reshare, it is here.

Billy Bolero A Favourite Of Mine

So back to the premise of this story.

With two and half thousand posts on Seven Days In and close on three hundred on Vocal , my written work is digitally stored forever plus I have nine thousand Instagram posts both videos and pictures with the odd selfie.

But who am I? What do I look like and sound like?

I have a YouTube channel here and have done a lot of slideshows with music. My Christopher Lee video has had over eighty thousand views and my Nick Cave / Dr Seuss take on Red Right Hand is nudging towards ten thousand , but recently I started having more of me in videos.

You may not believe it but I am ridiculously shy, although I do love performing for people , but right up to getting up and doing it I am very very scared. I have performed on stage over ten years from 1995 to 2005 in front of admittedly partisan audiences , but those performances are now just memories bar some photographs and one professional recorded concert at the Tyneside Irish Centre , plus an amateur one that I am trying to recover from a Video CD.

Then I thought about singing songs I love and seeing if I can put it one YouTube , effectively busking on social media. So I did it .

This is me raw , full of mistakes , and having the nerve just to do it. Whether it is worth listening to only the audience can decide , but some of the performances , well to be honest all of them , I am well satisfied with.

Most of the time I strip the song down to the absolute minimum chord sequence , and some are for people who mean a lot to me and others are just for myself. That is one way of stripping myself raw in public. There is a complete YouTube Playlist of me performing and singing here , though the song I will lead with is my attempt at The Magnetic Fields “Book of Love” , a beautiful song that I managed to perform.

As well as the singing I have put together a couple of basic cookery videos and also ended up doing a twenty minute one where I climbed Castlebergh Crag in Settle which you can see here.

Two days ago I was interviewed for possible inclusion in a forthcoming film about my sadly missed friend Craig Puranen Wilson . I thought it would either be an email or phone interview, no it was full lights and camera for ninety minutes, I hope the editors are kind to me.

So Can You See The Real Me?

politics

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Antoinette L Brey7 months ago

    -Nice learning more about you

  • Irene Mielke2 years ago

    I really liked your story. I felt isolated before vocal. I felt different. I felt like I didn't belong anywhere. Vocal gave me a community that showed me I belong somewhere.

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.