Journal logo

Building Success on Vocal

How to gain Traction on Vocal.

By Ali AkbarPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like
photo by Nick Morrison from Unsplash

If you just started writing on Vocal, you might be wondering how to get more people to read your work and achieve success on this platform.

I want to share my own experience in the hope that it can help someone else.

When I first began writing on Vocal, I realized that to succeed here, I needed to write every day.

At the start of my journey, I had very high standards for publishing. I thought that if my piece wasn't flawless, maybe I shouldn't share it. The voice inside me that criticizes was loud and bothersome. Because of that, I hesitated to publish an article on which I had spent a lot of time.

This brings me to my main point...

First Quantity Then Quality:

Quantity comes first, then quality That doesn't mean that quality isn't important, but when you're just starting out and want to gain more readers and reach your first 100 followers quickly, publish as much and as often as you can.

That being said, in the beginning, focus on producing a lot of content and don't strive for perfection. By publishing frequently, you will get into the habit of writing and build a following faster.

When I joined the platform, I started with no followers and gradually increased my count. In less than a month, I reached 100 followers simply by consistently showing up and writing.

Fast forward to over a year and a half later, and now I have more than 2,000 followers. You might think it was just luck, but it's not — it's my attitude towards writing.

I attribute my success to two main factors: consistently writing and publishing, as well as engaging with other writers.

So, if you're a new writer, my best advice to you is to keep publishing to get started. That means if you want to reach your first 100 followers quickly, make sure you publish regularly (I would suggest at least three times a week). Focus on building a writing routine instead of aiming for perfection.

The initial articles you publish may not be perfect, and that's okay. It's not about perfection; it's about developing the habit of writing and enjoying the process. Overcoming the urge for perfectionism will help you grow as a writer.

Make writing a priority If you want to achieve success, prioritize writing. No matter how busy you are, you can find time to write. This may take some time, and you might need to make adjustments along the way.

Experiment with different times and schedules. Try to figure out when you're most productive.

I have specific times during the week that I set aside exclusively for writing. I found that writing in the morning and evening works best for me. I also write on weekends. Everyone is different, so you need to find what works best for you and stick to it.

Once you've established your schedule, aim to write every day — even if it's just 30 minutes. Starting with the minimum time commitment will help the habit stick, and you can always increase the duration later on.

Writing doesn't mean sitting at your desk staring at a blank screen. But what if you can't think of anything and you're struggling with writer's block?

Start writing anyway, even if you don't have a specific topic in mind. You might want to try freewriting. Freewriting is a great way to kickstart the writing process. I often use this method when writing some of my articles.

Often, ideas are brewing in your mind, and you don't realize it until you start putting your thoughts on paper.

Remember, don't wait for inspiration to strike before you start writing. Inspiration often comes during the writing process.

If freewriting doesn't work for you, try the next best strategy — reading. Read anything that interests you, read articles by other writers, or read news.

careerbusinessartadvice
Like

About the Creator

Ali Akbar

Researcher & Analyst and Content Creator at Self-Employment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.