Journal logo

Between Checks and Trophies

The best I've gained from hard work.

By JeRon BakerPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
Like
December 2020, a photo from the beginning of an arduous era.

In spite of the fact that my workload is much greater than that of my peers, I easily outperform them on a regular basis. Perhaps it's because they are still blind to many of the things that are essential in executing hard work and fulfilling grand goals. I never expected to take on such an overwhelming schedule when this year started, but thankfully, it's been just as enlightening as it has been trying. I write today to proclaim the fruits of my labor that are not tangible.

Chicken, beans, rice, carrots, and greens; my daily dinner since I was nineteen years old at least.

A high volume of work asks that you set yourself up to win. That means being mindful of your lifestyle and all your choices down to even your diet. That means resting at every opportunity to recharge yourself. That means eating properly enough to reserve your energy, your health, and your refined presentation. That means being consistently hygienic and properly groomed in order to feel and look your best. Even when away from your work, you have to be responsible. Any element of your life that is taking away from your output is more than worth correcting. It is imperative that you protect your ability to produce and perform well.

Discipline needs endurance. And that's important to consider as we expend blood, sweat, and tears. In many cases, hard work will exhaust us mentally and physically, and such exhaustion can heavily affect your attitude and your will. I've learned firsthand that a fatigued mind can weaken the spirit and make one vulnerable. In tiredness, we may be tempted to abandon principles and necessary practices, even if just for a moment in time. By anticipating a "tired mind" and recognizing that its effects are merely temporary, we can fortify our stamina to uphold everything we believe in.

I was working two jobs with the same color uniform. It's like I lived in a blue collared shirt.

The bragging rights of hard work are a prize in themselves. There's something so empowering and dignifying about knowing that you've effectively labored even with little energy. Hard work is amongst many of the things that frighten the common kind, so to endure its challenges will exalt you to some measure. It makes quite a foundation for confidence.

The thought of 'hard work' doesn't have to be as overwhelming as it sounds. We can relieve ourselves from this form of dread by recognizing that there are no specifics when it comes to one's hustle. In business, in marketing, in creating, and in many other things we endeavor to do, what's most important is that we do all we can and fulfill our best ideas. Whether it be mentors, skilled colleagues, or information found in research, entities in our field tend to set a tone of "do it like this, this must be done." By acknowledging that there are so many different mediums that translate to progress and success, you'll realize that your only duty is to keep thinking and keep executing.

If I didn't know before, I definitely know now that a heavy load of work comes with plenty of reward. Even when the gains cannot be seen or felt, they can be held for the rest of time and equip you to do more.

(The above text comes from pages in my personal journal; Original writing from April 26 and October 2, 2021.)

This is my calendar in January 2021, in all its color-coded, yellow noted glory.

Since hard work is the theme of this writing, it feels more than appropriate to shine light on one more piece from my private papers. Although 2021 was quite a laborious year that I couldn't have predicted, the record shows that I came right into it with the mentality to conquer it. January 19th, the very first month of the year, I wrote:

"Without a doubt, I am a man of standards, but by 'standards', I mean no one's but my own. It's so interesting how one so great could be ranked so low when graded on a scale set by another. But how much does a low score really say about its subject when the criteria to be met is laughable altogether? When you are proud without doubt and possess unmistakable substance, you recognize the importance of abiding solely by the standards you set for yourself.

Moving forward from this era of my life, my sole objective must be to give a performance that I am proud of. No matter the circumstances of the setting, no matter the demands of my role, my work ethic must be reserved to fulfill my own ideals. As long as I aim to do well in my position, I alone must be the one to set the bar for my performance, for I know that the expectations of others can be so flawed and so self-gratifying. When all the work is complete. I must ensure that I am content with what I've produced. And once I've achieved such a state of content, I must not be so easily moved from it. Whether it be a numeric result, a piece of criticism, or a measure of profit (or lack thereof), I should not allow my effort or my output to be devalued.

Poor feedback only destroys those who truly cannot commend themselves, which is why we must apply our effort to realizing our own model of a 'job well done'. Given the grand plans I have for my own life, I am confident that this principle is one I'll hold close for decades to come. I am gifted, I am able, I am proud, and I intend to be exceptional. As long as I can say that my work is ideal, a score of any kind is powerless. There is no trophy greater than pride in my own work."

And to this day, I say amen.

adviceworkflowcareer
Like

About the Creator

JeRon Baker

A brown boy with big plans and a novelist in the making. You are looking at the starting line.

Twitter @jbakerwtw, Insta @jbaker.wtw

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.