Journal logo

A Post & An Album

Writing During New Order's "Low-Life"

By Z-ManPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
I.W.S. (Ideas Will Sprought ((SPROUGHT?)))

To start off, I would like to apologize to my mother, who has a knack for calling me when I am trying to sharing music with the world. It is the Universe orchestrating things; not you, Mom. I love you. Enjoy your buffalo chicken.

And now for the article...

I have literally no idea what this will amount to come the next half hour or so. I have walked downtown and have found a shady bench to use as my mission control for this session. I ran into some old work associates, which was cool, and of course talked with my Mom for a short time.

I need to get a second job to pay my finances, because you need to work more than the minimum just to be able to do things with others. I could get an engineering job, to use my degree, but the degree was a mistake, so I'm not really keen on that. And I'm not well-versed in the art of saving, so there's that, too.

And, honestly, about this post, I could write a story, but I would prefer to write something people are actually keen on reading--you know??? Haha. Otherwise, it's like grinding through purposelessly.

I really enjoy looking at shadows. You could say the same thing about clouds, I suppose. Faces hide there; they do not quiver when exposed. I wonder: do they belong to conscious beings? Do they have a real origin?

I wonder: are there perceptions that hide behind the walls put up by more immediate perceptions? Like the feeling you get when looking at a certain tree: do you ever feel it shift away and reveal another feeling hidden behind? I experienced that right now. I felt a chemical change occurring, as if I was discovering a perception I had lost sight of long ago.

You know, I don't have much of a drive to do anything really. Unless it is something I really enjoy--like poring through used CDs--I tend to stay my course around the

...unfashionable obstacles?

At 31, there are many things that I have missed out on in my life. There are many choices I could have made if I had just looked at them with a more critical eye--even by researching them. If I had just faced the challenge, the unknown, what have you, I could have saved myself years of wasted time. Because when you delay in a life of delay, it sure as hell ain't a double-negative. But I'm thankful for the close people I have. They are my only reason for allowing regret to lose forever.

So, because I was halfway through "Low-Life" once I commenced writing this article, I am listening to "Running With The Night" by Lionel Richie at the moment.

I have a film project waiting for me to get back to, but I still haven't touched it in months. Paying for Adobe Creative Cloud monthly, and for what? Because I didn't want to bother calling to cancel, because I'd only be using it later, anyway? FOMO? Could it be?

(I have officially skipped the last third for "City Of The Angels" by Wang Chung, from the "To Live And Die In L.A." soundtrack. You'll remember I did a review for that one a while ago? ??? RIGHT???? XD)

I absolutely love this type of music. The 80s were the heydays of music, in my opinion. The places that synth music calls me to, for example, is always wonderful. An instrument that can bind splendor and sorrow as a palatable inspiration...something like that...is such a wonderful thing.

THE END!

feature
Like

About the Creator

Z-Man

\m/,

Hello all! I am an aspiring vocalist, filmmaker + writer. I hope you gain something personal + inspiring from my work here. You are also welcome to subscribe to my YouTube Channel: Ad-Libbing With The Zman.

Thank You!

Zach

B']

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.