Journal logo

The Thicket: Beyond

A Slow Crawl Through The Realm Of Inspiration

By Z-ManPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

You may be asking yourself: what does the picture above pertain to, if anything? For what reason did I wed it with the title and subtitle above, as well as the 600 or more words to follow?

That's a good question. But allow me to ask one of my own:

Who knows why?

The way I operate is by strolling side-by-side with faith and belief. I often allow pictures and words to speak mutually for themselves, whether the combination is typical or not. It is one of my methods of moving beyond the darkness where inspiration dawdles, or prances, or hides. Or as is generally the case with my YouTube videos, I turn the camera on and allow the passing seconds to force some form of "confession" out of me. Either way, I tend to hit a stride at least 25-33% through.

So let's check in. Where does the coincision lie now? What relationship Do the title, and subtitle, and photo have with one another?

Tell me what you think.

.....

....

...

..

.

I'll tell you what my modus operandi indicates to me. Perhaps you have read my articles and gleaned something of it for yourself by now.

For one, I took the photo because I like the secrecy of its ways. I enjoy how it looks like you could crawl through it a good while. Where does it lead? What does it lead to? Or to WHOM? There are obvious Alice In Wonderland allusions innate in the imagery, thanks to the realm of memory it is being observed in. (Unless, of course, you are reading this thousands of years in the future, and even then, having read this far, you'll associate it with the title regardless.)

For two, the title, and consequently subtitle, were fashioned through my falling back on a standard topic: an informational post regarding how I operate--and am forced to operate--in the art world. In case you haven't theorized it by now, I enjoy some combination of metaphors and personification. I like to join disparate ideas together in a way that amounts to being humorous and/or thought-provoking. My mind is constantly reeling with movies quotes or the like, and pulling in physical observations into the same framework. I'm singing constantly, and the words generally flow without a hitch.

So, in effect, what this article or attempt amounts to is a mass of individual facets and opinions strung through by standards that I personally have adopted. It is "usual" fare, I am sorry to say; "usual" in the same way that even a dectet of Master Works is sure to become.

THE MOON...
IS WATCHING ME!!!!!

To be completely honest, I am now fully aware of how pointless this whole article seems--at least to me.

Then again, the fact that I am regurgitating something I already know is inherent in the process. The endgame, of course, is sharing knowledge with YOU and, by extension, Yours.

There really is no telling when any of these particular articles will be read, if ever. You may have come across this one in your wayward or calculated journey for growth and/or exploration. Or you may not even be reading this one, having chanced upon one of my previous forays into the topic.

So, unlike what Mr. P. Bateman had to say about his own, this "confession" has meant something after all.

AFTERWORD

With 32% battery remaining on my laptop, photos that are taking an age to upload to OneDrive, a band of girls to see, and a bladder to empty, the time is fast approaching for me to bid you adieu for now. Perhaps we shall go our separate ways forever, or meet somehow once again. Like the very meaning of "definition", there really is no security in what is thought. There is only some unknown manifestation to traipse around or submit to.

But it was still all in good fun, wasn't it?

workflow
Like

About the Creator

Z-Man

\m/,

Hello all! I am an aspiring vocalist, filmmaker + writer. I hope you gain something personal + inspiring from my work here. You are also welcome to subscribe to my YouTube Channel: Ad-Libbing With The Zman.

Thank You!

Zach

B']

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.