Journal logo

A Job Is a Job

You may not get your dream job.

By Erika MartinezPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1

Getting a job can be both easy and difficult. To be honest, there are plenty of jobs, not many dream jobs, but there are jobs close to it. From life experience and getting to know people, finding the right (dream) job is a pain. If you know a person who isn’t working, their reason is that no one would hire them. It is because they aren’t looking for a job. Getting a job just to survive or paying a portion of the rent isn’t that difficult to find. Yes, it may suck for a while, just until you see something you like that's better. Even YouTubers still worked until they got a better offer.

I dated a guy for five months. In the past five months I had known him, he would tell me how much he hated his job and was looking for a new one. He has an Associate's in hospitality, and has experience in hotel services. He is about four years older than me, and his favorite things to do is party. Long story short, I ended up liking him and suggested we become exclusive. He declined, the reasonable excuse he gave me: “I need to get my s*** together.” He just lost his part time job, so I gave him an application to a job that was related to his expertise. He refused the job, stating it’s not his dream job. I discovered something about him, not that I wasted my time or he was not really into me. When he told me that answer, many places were hiring for the holidays. I know for sure hotels were hiring people just for the season. With his background, he could have gotten a job. He was just a lazy man that just didn’t want to work.

I quit my old job three months ago. I quit because I didn’t like it anymore and thought I could go back into security a job. I had done three years of it. By the time I left my old job, I got to work at my new job. I thought I was going to love it since I was getting paid $2 more. I thought it was a good enough reason to stay. Turns out, it was too much responsibility for me to handle, causing me to “no-show.” I didn’t have a job line-up, my mom and I were in a rut, plus I was getting calls for unpaid bills. Talk about getting my s*** together. I didn’t care at first, since I just got my check from my old and new job but that barely covered anything. My mom was ready to kick me out if I didn’t have a job soon. I placed my resume out in different websites, hoping to get a job at least fitting my taste. Not long after, about three days, I got a call a from a job that I could do. I wasn’t getting paid $2 more, but a job is a job. I ended up liking it. The company had more opportunities for me in the future.

Before the call, I was ready to apply to many minimum wage jobs so I could pay the rent. Right now, I am applying for a second job just so I can have some extra cash just to splurge. There are countless jobs I applied to that I got declined from just because of my availability. Still, I have three interviews in jobs that I have no experience in. I still am in debt, my finances are not in order, my s*** is not all together, but it is getting there.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.