Journal logo

3 Instagram Business Account Benefits

Discover How A Business Account Can Help You Get More Engagement and Targeted Customers For Your Business.

By Christina SpohrPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1

Switch To An Instagram Business Account

Wondering what the difference between a personal profile and a business profile is and how it can benefit your business? Well here we are going to go over 3 benefits for using an Instagram business account.

If you didn't know Instagram has 3 different profiles now, personal profile, business profile or the creator profile.

The creator profile does have the same benefits of a business account. I've read their are a few minor differences. But I have not tested it out yet so I won't speak on it until I do. When I test it out I'll write a post about it for you.

First things first, before we even start to talk about the 3 benefits lets talk switching your profiles.

You can follow the images below to learn step by step how to switch profiles.

If you already know how to do this keep scrolling to the 3 benefits.

You'll want to go to your profile page and click the three lines in the upper right hand corner to access your settings.

Then you'll scroll to the bottom and hit 'Switch To Professional Account.'

You can always switch back to your personal profile at anytime.

Then you'll be asked if you want to create a creator account or a business account.

You can always switch and try which accounts you prefer, nothing is set in stone.

3 Instagram Business Account Benefits

I wanted to make this a simple as possible for you to understand.

I made video for you talking about the 3 benefits as well as writing them out down below for you.

This way you can easily apply this information in your business.

1. Contact Option

There are a few minor differences and benefits to using a business account as apposed to a personal profile especially when it come to business.

You can see below one of the differences is the contact option.

This option just gives your visitors a way to get in contact with you through email, phone number or see your address.

You can pick and choose what contact information you want to put in. You can use all three or one.

To access your contact options you need to go to 'edit profile.'

Then you'll go to the bottom where it says 'contact options.'

Here you can add an email, phone number or business address. This all depends on what you want to add. I personally only have my business email up as a contact.

You can always use your Facebook Fan Page information as well.

2. Insights Tab

If you didn't know the insights tab is located on your profile page.

You will want to hit the three lines in the upper right and corner and hit insights.

Here you can access your analytics such as your content, activity and audience information.

Knowing this information can only help you better understand your audience and create more content your audience is liking and engaging with.

Of course it does also depend on your goal. What is your overall objective with your Instagram account.

  • Do you want to get more followers?
  • Do you want to increase your engagement?
  • Do you want to get more website clicks?

What are you using your Instagram for?

I'll give you and example.

When I first started my Instagram account I was all about the likes and followers. The more likes and followers I got the better chances of getting customers, or so I thought. I thought this because it would make me look like and authority, like I knew what I was talking about.

But to be honest I was getting likes and followers. But not growing at the rate that I thought I would. I mean I thought I would have thousands of followers easily.

And also I wasn't bringing in very many sales.

So once I took a step back and thought about all that I was doing. And what I really wanted to accomplish with Instagram.

Which was bring in more customers to my business and provide value to small business owners.

I realized I was so focused on the followers and the likes that I was neglecting the whole point. I wasn't putting out content for my audience. I was putting out content that would get likes and engagement.

So when I sat down and really analyzed my analytics I realized certain things.

Like my personal photos or dog photos got more likes and comments.

But my short business tips would get more profile visits, website clicks and saves.

So I realized the content I wanted to focus on was more about business and how I can help people in their business every day.

Even if its just a quick tip that might spark and idea or give them better insight into a topic they've been wanting to know more about.

That's when I really started changing my content and focusing on content that helped my audience in their business.

I started seeing more likes and comments from people who were interested in my business and messaging me.

Basically what I want you to understand is if you're frustrated with your Instagram account I've been there but don't fret the small things. Remember the bigger picture and why you got started in your business.

Sometimes those metrics can be vanity metrics, that's why I personally like why they are hiding likes, I feel like it's more about the content now. But that's for another story.

In the video below I talk all about Instagram analytics so you can better understand them and create better content for your audience.

3. Promote Option

The promote button can be seen on your profile page.

You can also promote your posts.

When you use the promote button you pay to reach more people then your account would normally reach.

I won't speak much on this because I don't use the promote buttons currently. I'm teaching people to grow their business organically on Instagram without having to pay for ads.

But this is not to say you shouldn't do it. I will in the future probably use the promote button.

Using the promote button can help you get your post seen more. This all depends on the audience you target and the piece of content you release.

If you do decide to do ads, test it out. Run multiple ads, or run the same ad with different images or different text. You can check your insights to see how your promotions preformed.

Conclusion

Lets just recap all that you learned. In the very beginning you learned how to switch to a business account if you didn't know how to do this.

Then we dove right into the 3 benefits for using a business account, contact option, insights tab, and the promote option.

I hope you learned lots of helpful information you can take away and apply in your business.

If you're wanting more ways to grow your Instagram account and get more engagement you can check out the Instagram Growth & Momentum Course.

>>Click Here To Find Out More Information

Thanks for stopping by! I hope you learned lots to help you in your business.

See You In The Next Post,

Your Friend

Christina Spohr

IG @thechristinaspohr

YouTube Channel

social media
1

About the Creator

Christina Spohr

Helping small business owners grow their business online.

A tip is always appreciated to help me create more awesome content for you.

IG @thechristinaspohr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.