Interview logo

Spinning Tales of Magic and Mayhem

Hunter Chadwick - Author of After It's Over

By KA Stefana Published 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 5 min read
1
Illusion for The Power of Destiny

Well, I am back with another author interview. This interview holds a special place in my heart because Hunter is one of the first authors that I read on Amazon's Kindle Vella platform and fell in love with After It's Over.

Let's give Hunter Chadwick a warm welcome as we dive right into the interview.

Hunter Chadwick

What genres do you write?

Fantasy and Thriller

What motivated you to start writing?

I love to write about ideas, but our world is saturated with people giving their opinions. I entered the world of fiction writing to try and integrate the ideas I want to talk about into fictional stories.

What do you love about writing?

I love it when the words flow, and you read it back and are satisfied with what you've written. It's even more amazing when your writing connects with a reader.

What is the most frustrating aspect of writing?

Sometimes, you have a perfect picture of your destination but no idea how to get there.

How long have you been writing?

I started writing regularly in 2020. It's one good thing that came out of the pandemic.

... and are there days when you want to forget about it?

Not really. I still love it.

How did you start writing?

I wanted to write a part of our life story after suffering through some incredibly painful events. That got me started.

How do you approach writing? Do you plot and scheme before you start writing, or do you just jump right into your first chapter and see where the characters take you?

I've done both. My current novel is historical fiction, so I've planned far more than I usually do. The one I just finished, The Agency, was a complete fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants affair.

How long, on average, does it take you to write a book?

6-9 months

What are you currently working on? If it's part of a series, feel free to include all of your titles.

I just finished a techno-thriller called The Agency, and I'll be editing it and readying it for publication. I just started writing a historical fiction novel tentatively called The Crimson Plains.

How did you come up with the title of your latest novel?

In my fantasy trilogy, all three novels have the same pattern for their titles (The Force of Magic, The Frailty of Hope, and The Power of Destiny). The thought is that there are these forces that work in the lives of our heroes in fantasy stories, and they often find themselves swept along by things like magic and destiny. In this trilogy, the main character, Perin didn't ask to be the center of such a story, but as more things happen, you see that she can't help but move forward to the story's inevitable conclusion.

Do you have any “side stories” about the characters?

Yes! In my first novel, After It's Over, there was a question from my readers, "What happened to Shelly?" I decided to answer it with a side story. I also gave a little view of what was happening on the other side of the world during the apocalypse in another side story.

Who is your favorite character? Why?

Big Al from After It's Over. He's such a wonderfully lovable, gentle giant. Everyone needs a friend like Big Al.

Who is your least favorite character Why?

Karven in the Force of Magic. He's the kind of evil who uses people without a thought and only sees them as a means to an end.

Have you ever wrestled with a character and had to rewrite your entire plot to deal with their unruly behavior?

No, but I almost forgot a character and had to rewrite about 15 chapters after I left him out.

If you could have been the author of any book ever written, which book would you choose?

Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson predicted so much of our current reality and is so clever in the way it blends together the storylines.

What book do you think everyone should read?

Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky

Give a shout-out to your favorite author! Feel free to include your favorite indie author too!

Michael Crichton is my favorite modern author. I would love to write technothrillers at his level and have one in the works. My favorite Indie author is L.J. Vitanza.

What is your favorite book or series?

As a fantasy lover, there are many books I could pick, but The Guardians of the Flame is a series I've read several times. A classic portal fantasy that I don't hear many people mention.

Do you have a favorite quote that you would like to share with your readers?

Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free - Jesus.

Is there anything else that you want to share with your readers? Something that I didn't ask.

My background is in literature, history, and counseling. My goal in writing my characters is that they would deal with real human emotions well and learn from those experiences, showing growth as they deal with the difficulties I throw at them. Let me know how I'm doing. :)

After It's Over and Before It Began by Hunter Chadwick

"It didn't have to be this way...

This thought came frequently to Reece in the dark and quiet evenings like this one, often as he gazed into the fire or took in the stars. A natural disaster is a thing of God, wrought upon us without our input or acquiescence, but the world he lived in today was not primarily created by a natural occurrence but mostly by the wishes and whims of men and women who thought they could control what God had wrought or saw this crisis as this opportunity to expand their power. How wrong they were."

~ After It's Over by Hunter Chadwick, Episode 1, The Beginning of the End

If you would like to follow Hunter, you can sign up for his NEWSLETTER.

You can also check out his WEBSITE.

Here's a sampling of Hunter's stories:

The Force of Magic, Seasons 1 to 3: KINDLE VELLA

The Agency - DDD Inc.: KINDLE VELLA

After It's Over, Seasons 1 & 2: KINDLE VELLA or ebook

~~~~~~~~

If you are looking for other great authors, the links below will lead you to other great interviews:

The Water Chemist Spins Her Tales of Adventure

Let's Welcome Our Next Author



CreatorsAuthors
1

About the Creator

KA Stefana

I started writing as a hobby during quarantine. From a hobby, a passion bloomed. Author of Dark Fantasy with a twist of romance. Available on KU - The Origins of Darkness, The Daughters of Darkness and The Forgotten.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.